SPN 0031: Latin American Literature from Nation Building to the 21st century: Home

Books    

• JumboSearch
• Libraries Worldwide 

Path of Discovery in JumboSearch, (our book catalog and more)

1. Find a title/author (e.g., in assigned readings);
2. Note the descriptive language of the Catalog record.
3. Use that language in further searches

e.g., Click on subjects in the record to see further results and related topics:

Title::	Gabriel García Márquez and Ovid: Magical and Monstrous Realities
Author	Robinson, Lorna
Subjects:	García Márquez, Gabriel, 1927-2014
	Ovid, 43 B.C.-17 A.D. or 18 A.D
	Magic in literature
	Politics in literature

 

by/about Literary Writers & Their Works:

• Martí, José, 1853-1895 .
• Cien Años De Soledad.
• Mistral, Gabriela, 1889-1957.
• Storni, Alfonsina, 1892-1938

Place your writer/works in the larger contexts of literary studies.

• Argentine literature -- History and criticism
• Chilean poetry -- 20th century -- History and criticism
• Latin American poetry -- 20th century -- History and criticism
• Latin American fiction -- 20th century -- History and criticism
• Latin American literature -- 20th century -- History and criticism

Tip:  Literary Anthologies and Collections for Historical Overviews

Introductory texts (by the editor/translator) in literary anthologies /collections provide overviews and surveys of an author and his/her works, a literary era, literary style, and so on so forth. The explanatory footnotes enhance an understanding of the works in terms of contemporary culture and literary traditions in which the authors lived and wrote. Hence, the historical significance of the works. For examples:

• Jose Lezama Lima: Selections
•  Latin American revolutionary poetry = Poesía revolucionaria latinoamericana; a bilingual anthology
• The Norton anthology of Latino literature
• The Whole Island: Six Decades of Cuban Poetry, A Bilingual Anthology 

 

Some Reference Titles for Overviews:

• The Cambridge Companion to Modern Latin American Culture.
• Culture and customs of Latin America and the Caribbean. (of 20 countries.)
• The Companion to Latin American Studies.
• Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature:
• Encyclopedia of Latin American History & Culture

Journal Articles 

1. All Subjects

• JStor
• Project Muse

2. Latin American Studies

• Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
• Anales de la Literatura Hispanoamericana

3. Subject Databases

• In EBSCOhost databases, you can select to search across the following databases, among others:
• Historical Abstracts (World history and culture)
• MLA International Bibliography (literary Studies)
• Women's Studies International

Tip: Crash a Research Party

Subject-specific databases are where scholars in a given research area gather to share with each other their scholarship. For example, the subject database MLA International Bibliography is where literary studies scholars are having their research party. Search in this database, and listen to the scholarly conversations around your research interests:

1. Start with names and titles of literary writers and authors of articles and books in your (course) readings;
2. Examine the initial search results to discover what/how/why scholars have written about these writers, and their works:
3. You may choose to focus on some typical themes such as Honour, Romance, Women, etc.
4. Or, other elements, for example:

• * imagery;
• * characters/characterization;
• * the plot, events, actions;
• * the settings
• * literary devices, e.g. points of view, the the narrator, etc.
• * Other literary techniques, e.g. metaphor, and other types of figurative language;
• * and more.

 

National Libraries

• Biblioteca Nacional de Colombia
• Biblioteca Nacional de Chile
• Biblioteca Nacional de Argentina
• Biblioteca Nacional del Perú