Welcome
|
Welcome to my Research Sources page for Renaissance Venice! Chao Chen, your research librarian |
 |
Books
Finding Books in Library Catalogs: 
Path of Discovery in JumboSearch, (our book catalog and more)
- Find a relevant book (e.g., from your assigned readings?)
- Note the descriptive language of the Catalog record.
- Use that language in further searches
e.g., Click on subjects in the record to see further results and related topics; and/or combine these subject phrases with other keywords for a more focused search:
A few more subject browse:
- Art, Italian -- Italy -- Venice
- Art and society -- Italy -- Venice
- Art and society -- Italy -- sixteenth century
Some sample titles at Tisch:
- A short history of Renaissance Italy
- Art and life in Renaissance Venice
- Art of Renaissance Venice 1400-1600
- The art of Renaissance Venice: architecture, sculpture, and painting, 1460-1590
- The art of Venice: from its origins to 1797
- The Cambridge companion to Titian
- The enduring legacy of Venetian Renaissance art
- Myths of Venice: the figuration of a state
- Venice & antiquity: the Venetian sense of the past
- Venice: art & architecture
- Venetian colour: marble, mosaic, painting and glass, 1250-1550
Sources and Documents:
Print Images
Search for Books with images at Tisch
Art, Renaissance -- Catalogs
Art, Renaissance -- Exhibitions
Overviews | Bibliographies | Journal Articles
Overviews and Bibliographies
- Met Timeline and Essays
- The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance
- A Companion to Renaissance and Baroque Art
- Italian Renaissance Learning Resources
- Renaissance Art in Italy
- Renaissance and renascences (A Bibliography)
Journal Articles (subject databases)
All Subjects
History of Art and Renaissance Studies
- Art & Architecture Source
- Historical abstracts
- Iter: bibliography of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400–1700)
- International Medieval Bibliography (400-1500).
Tip: Crash the Research Party
Subject-specific databases, such as Iter: bibliography of the Middle Ages and Renaissance, where art historians and renaissance scholars are having their research party, sharing with each other their scholarship. Enter names of artists and titles of their works that interest you into the databases; then "listen to" the conversations about them: how scholars have studied them? If you don’t yet have specific names or titles in mind, enter keywords of topical themes, and observe what artworks are being associated with these topics, how and why?
A Few Core Journals
Tip: Back and Forth between Articles and Books
If your specific artwork is not being directly addressed in articles, broaden your search to look at the larger context as a frame of reference for your own analysis of an individual work/object, e.g.
For example, a past paper focuses "on how the choice of costume contribute to the reading of the paintings, David and Goliath by Caravaggio and David and Goliath by Carlo Dolci."
Sample findings about the broader context -- clothing culture of the time and in Italian paintings:
- Clothing Culture, 1350-1650
- Renaissance Dress in Italy 1400-1500
- The Clothing of the Renaissance World: Europe, Asia, Africa, the Americas: Cesare Vecellio’s Habiti Antichi et Moderni
- A Well-Fashioned Image: Clothing and Costume in European Art, 1500-1850
- Merchants, Princes and Painters: Silk Fabrics in Italian and Northern Paintings, 1300-1550
Also, search for more specific discussions of the artist, his works and your specific focus:
- Benedict Nicolson. Caravaggio and the Caravaggesques: Some Recent Research, The Burlington Magazine Vol. 116, No. 859, Special Issue Devoted to Caravaggio and the Caravaggesques (Oct., 1974), pp. 565+602-616+622.
- Janis C. Bell. Some Seventeenth-Century Appraisals of Caravaggio’s Coloring Artibus et Historiae, Vol. 14, No. 27 (1993), pp. 103-129
