HAA084 Latin American Cinema: Home

Books    

• JumboSearch
• Libraries Worldwide 

Some Background Readings:

• Latin American history goes to the movies: understanding Latin America's past through film.
• Latin American cinema: a comparative history.
• Cinema and social change in Latin America: conversations with filmmakers
• La cinta ancha: brechas de género en el cine peruano.
• Magical reels:: a history of cinema in Latin America
• New Trends in Argentine and Brazilian Cinema
• Remaking Brazil: contested national identities in contemporary Brazilian cinema
• National identity in 21st-century Cuban cinema: screening the repeating island.
• Mex-Cine: Mexican filmmaking, production, and consumption in the twenty-first century

Path of Discovery in JumboSearch, (our book catalog and more)

1. Find a relevant book (e.g., from your assigned readings?)
2. Note the descriptive language of the Catalog record.
3. Use that language in further searches

e.g., Click on subjects in the record to see further results and related topics; and/or combine these subject phrases with other keywords for a more focused search:

Title::	Unholy trinity: state, church, and film in Mexico
Author	Janzen, Rebecca
Subjects:	Motion pictures -- Mexico -- History -- 20th century
	Motion pictures -- Mexico -- History -- 21st century
	Motion pictures -- Political aspects -- Mexico
	Religion in motion pictures

Annotated Bibliographies

• Cinema and Media Studies
• Latin American Studies

Evaluating Information

• Evaluating Articles
• Evaluating Books
• Evaluating Web Sites
• Evaluating Videos

Journal Articles 

1. All Subjects

• JStor
• Project Muse

2. Latin American Studies

• Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)

3. Film Studies and Related Subject Databases

• In EBSCOhost databases, you can select to search across the following databases, among others:
• Communication & Mass Media Complete
• Film & Television Literature Index
• Historical Abstracts (World history and culture)
• Women's Studies International

Tip: Crash the Research Party

Subject-specific databases such as Film and Television Literature Index. is where film historians and scholars are having their research party, sharing with each other their scholarship. Throw titles/filmmakers that interest you into the database; then "listen to" the conversations about them: how scholars have studied them? If you don’t yet have specific films/filmmakers in mind, entering keywords of topical themes, and observe what films are being associated with these topics, how and why?

Tufts Subscription:

• Kanopy (all subjects and genres)

Open Online Collections

• Retina Latina,a platform promoting and showing films from Latin America.

Brazilian Cinema Novo

• Cinematica Brasileira: . 
• Arquivo Estado de Sao Paulo Repositório Digital
• Biblioteca Brasiliana Guita e Jose Mindlin:

Argentine Tercer Cinema

• El Amante: 
• Haciendo Cine:  

Cuban Cinema de la Revolución

• Cuba Cine:
• Screening Prints: Fifty Years of Cuban Cinema Posters, 1959-2009

Andean "Indigenista" film

• Centro de Formación y Realización Cinematográfico (CEFREC Redes Indígenas)
• Indianizing Film: Decolonization, the Andes, and the Question of Technology: