|
Welcome to my Research Sources page Hystérie/Her Story: A History of Women's Madness! Chao Chen, your research librarian |
 |
About Scholarly Articles and Reading Tips
Key Characteristics of a Scholarly Article
- Author(s): scholars/researchers with credentials (e.g. PhD) and/or affiliations (e.g. university professor or similar knowledge-based organizations.)
- (the intended) Audience: for their academic peers in the discipline/field.
- Purpose: to further our understanding about a topic with original research, usually focusing in a narrow area of the subject (rather than to merely persuade, entertain, inform, or report.)
- Peer-reviewed scholarly articles are vetted and improved by experts in the field before publication.
- Language: scholarly language with discipline specific vocabulary.
- Structure: Relatively lengthy (at least 5 pages of text) with many citations and references to published research (footnotes and/or bibliography).
Reading Tips
A systematic approach in your reading helps you consider the article critically. A good critique is really more about your own confidence as a reader than about possession of specific knowledge.
How to Read Journal Articles Like a Professor by Michael J. Nelson.
Evaluating Information & Citing Sources
Cite sources to
- Avoid plagiarism
- Give credit to the source of an idea
- Lend credibility to your arguments
Books | Articles
Note: in JumboSearch and Databases, you can always limited your search to the French Language when needed)
(JumboSearch for) Books 
Browse Tisch library collections on hysteria throughout history in France and the Francophone world; collect keywords in the records of the following titles and apply them in your own searches with different focuses and specifics:
- Fits and Starts: a Genealogy of Hysteria in Modern France
- Invention of hysteria: Charcot and the photographic iconography of the Salpêtrière
- Scenes of seduction: prostitution, hysteria, and reading difference in nineteenth-century France
- Sexing the Mind: Nineteenth-Century Fictions of Hysteria
- Ventriloquized bodies: narratives of hysteria in nineteenth-century France
- Voices from the asylum : four French women writers, 1850-1920
- Finding the plot: a maternal approach to madness in literature
- The madwoman can't speak, or, Why insanity is not subversive
- Madness in Black Women's Diasporic Fictions: Aesthetics of Resistance
- Performing hysteria : images and imaginations of hysteria
- Women's Lives in Contemporary French and Francophone Literature
- Women's writing in twenty-first-century France: life as literature (French and francophone studies).
- Women's writing of Africa and the Caribbean
- Of suffocated hearts and tortured souls : seeking subjecthood through madness in francophone
Browse on writing by and about these writers:
(Subject Databases for) Journal Articles 
A. All subjects
B. Subject-Specific Databases
- In EBSCOhost databases, you can select to search across the following databases, among others:
- Historical Abstracts ( World history and culture),
- LGBTQ+ Source,
- MLA International Bibliography (literature, folklore and related studies.)
- Women's Studies International