ILCS-0072 The Eerie: An Exploration Across Time and Space: Home

Finding Books in Library Catalogs:   

• JumboSearch
• Libraries Worldwide 

Path of Discovery in JumboSearch, (our book catalog and more)

1. Find a relevant book (e.g., from your assigned readings?)
2. Note the descriptive language of the Catalog record.
3. Use that language in further searches

e.g., Click on subjects in the record to see further results and related topics; and/or combine these subject phrases with other keywords for a more focused search:

Title:	The Uncanny child in Transnational Cinema: ghosts of futurity at the turn of the twenty-first century
Author(s):	Balanzategui, Jessica
Subjects:	Children in motion pictures
	Horror films -- Japan
	Horror films -- Spain
	Horror films -- United States
	Uncanny, The (Psychoanalysis)

A few sample titles at Tisch:

• Environmental humanities and the uncanny: ecoculture, literature and religion
• Ethics and aesthetics in European modernist literature: from the sublime to the uncanny
• Fairytale and gothic horror: uncanny transformations in film
• The female thermometer: eighteenth-century culture and the invention of the uncanny
• Gothic animals: uncanny otherness and the animal with-out
• The Iranian metaphysicals: explorations in science, Islam, and the uncanny
• Making monsters: the uncanny power of dehumanization
• Middle Eastern Gothics: literature, spectral modernities and the restless past
• Modernist empathy: geography, elegy, and the uncanny
• Monstrous bodies: the rise of the uncanny in modern Japan
• Monstrous liminality, or, The uncanny strangers of secularized modernity
• Post-traumatic attachments to the eerily moving image: something to watch over me
• Spaces of longing and belonging: territoriality, ideology and creative identity in literature and film
• The testimonial uncanny: indigenous storytelling, knowledge, and reparative practices
• The Uncanny child in Transnational Cinema: ghosts of futurity at the turn of the twenty-first century
• The uncanny: experiments in cyborg culture
• Uncanny bodies: superhero comics and disability
• Uncanny fairy tales : hybrid wonders in the mirror
• Unsettling landscapes : the art of the eerie
• The weird and the eerie

Some sample subject browsing:

• Uncanny, The (Psychoanalysis), in literature
• Uncanny, The (Psychoanalysis), in motion pictures

Finding articles in Subject Databases 

1. All subjects

• JSTOR
• Project Muse

 

2. Film and Related Subjects

• Communication & Mass Media
• Film & Television Literature Index
• Art & Architecture Source
• Bibliography of Asian Studies
• Historical Abstracts
• LGBTQ+ Source
• MLA International Bibliography (Literature, folklore and related studies.)
• Women's Studies

 

Tip: Crash the Research Party

Subject-specific databases such as Film and Television Literature Index and MLA International Bibliography are where film historians/literary/cultural studies scholars are having their research party, sharing with each other their scholarship. Enter into these databases titles of films/literary works and names of filmmakers and literary autthors that interest you; then "listen to" the conversations about them: how scholars have studied them? If you don’t yet have specific films/literary works/filmmakers/writers in mind, entering keywords of topical themes, and observe what films/literary works are being associated with these topics, how and why?

3. Current Newspapers

• Access World News (rich in U.S. regional news)
• Factiva (more coverage in international news)