Research Data Management @ Hirsh Health Sciences Library

A repository for Tufts researchers to share their research data publicly. Tufts Dataverse is housed within Harvard Dataverse, an open, generalist repository maintained by Harvard University. It is free to use, with a limit of 2.5 GB per individual file. Currently, Tufts Dataverse has a total storage capacity of 1 TB. Learn more here.

Zenodo welcomes data in all formats from all disciplines. There is a 50GB limit for all data on the same record. You can read their policies here.

Figshare is a web-based interface designed for academic research data management and research data dissemination. It accepts all file types and disciplines. Figshare has a 20GB storage limit.

The Harvard Dataverse Repository is a free data repository open to all researchers from any discipline, both inside and outside of the Harvard community, where you can share, archive, cite, access, and explore research data. Each individual Dataverse collection is a customizable collection of datasets (or a virtual repository) for organizing, managing, and showcasing datasets. Includes data use terms and assigns DOIs for published data.

An excellent repository choice for disciplines that may not have dedicated repository services or research that crosses disciplines and doesn’t fit in one specific repository. Includes data curation services. Accepts text, images, audio, video, and compressed formats. Individual files should not exceed 10GB and each data publication collection is limited to 300MB. Requires deposits to use a CC0 license. Has a $150 data publishing charge for 50GB, which increases by $50 with each additional 10GB.

Figshare+ is a paid version of the Figshare repository designed for large datasets up to and over 10TB, with single file sizes of up to 5TB. The pricing model is designed to be included in grant applications and the fees are paid once. Pricing is based on storage for 'up to 100GB' and then provided in increments of 250GB after that. Please check the link for up-to-date pricing information.

This global registry of research data repositories covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines

OpenDOAR is the quality-assured, global Directory of Open Access Repositories. You can search and browse through thousands of registered repositories based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held

A list of repositories and databases for open data maintained by the Open Access community and hosted by Simmons University.

A registry of knowledgebases and repositories of data and other digital assets.

A community resource for tracking, comparing, and understanding current U.S. federal funder research data sharing policies. Originally completed by SPARC & Johns Hopkins University Libraries in 2016, the content of this resource was updated by RDAP and SPARC in 2021.

Archives reference image datasets with value beyond simply supporting an original publication. This may be data associated with current or in-press publications, images using new imaging methods, or images likely to be re-analyzed or used in other studies. File size is not an issue but anything significantly larger than 1,000GB may require additional support and consultation. Requires CC-BY license for data deposit.

NCI Imaging Data Commons (IDC) is a cloud-based repository of publicly available cancer imaging data co-located with the analysis and exploration tools and resources. IDC is a node within the broader NCI Cancer Research Data Commons (CRDC) infrastructure that provides secure access to a large, comprehensive, and expanding collection of cancer research data. Review the website for accepted file types and imaging anatomical sites.

Bioimaging data on scale from molecules to organisms. Accepts accepts data from any imaging modality including light microscopy, optical projection tomography, magnetic resonance imaging, ultrasound imaging, super-resolution microscopy, photoacoustic imaging, light-field microscopy, Brillouin microscopy, atomic force microscopy, and others. Medical datasets that are linked to an identifiable individual and/or have a primary use in medical treatment are not in scope. Human cell lines and tissue arrays are in scope if they are not linked to an individual and do not have phenotypic data allowing for identification. In case of human image data where consent for publication is demonstrated, publication in the BioImage Archive will be considered on a case-by-case basis.

A federated data search, discovery, and analysis platform that allows researchers to query and analyze data from independent data repositories or resources related to medical imaging. Learn more about donating images here.

The ACR collects images and data performed as part of diagnosing and treating COVID-19 patients. CIRR sites contribute demographic information, clinical data on signs and symptoms, imaging exams, laboratory test data and outcomes. Data is used for education, AI algorithm development and research studies.

The BIL is free to browse and deposit; datasets of any size are accepted. According to their website, data you can find or deposit include:
"Whole brain microscopy image datasets and their accompaning secondary data such as neuron morphologies, Targeted microscope-enabled experiments including connectivity between cells and spatial transcriptomics, [and] Historical collections of value to the community. "

The Image and Data Archive (IDA) is a secure online resource for archiving, exploring and
sharing neuroscience data including MRI, PET, SPECT, EEG and other modalities. Accepts uploads only for studies that use IDA data.

A platform to share anonymized data from completed clinical research trials. There are data sharing costs that depend on the size of the data deposits and the fee covers services that include initial consult, metadata curation, archiving for 10 years securely in the cloud, data persistent identifier (DOI) provided for primary publications and to meet grant commitments. Learn more about the associated costs and guidelines for deposit here.

A repository for dental, oral, and craniofacial research. Data submissions must be reviewed and accepted prior to deposit. Includes information on writing DMSPs specific to FaceBase.

A research data catalog and repository for public access to data produced during research funded or co-funded by the United States Department of Agriculture.

A list of repositories for nutrition science and biospecimens.

MetaboLights is a database for Metabolomics experiments and derived information. The database is cross-species, cross-technique and covers metabolite structures and their reference spectra as well as their biological roles, locations and concentrations, and experimental data from metabolic experiments. MetaboLights is the recommended Metabolomics repository for a number of leading journals.

The ProteomeXchange Consortium was established to provide globally coordinated standard data submission and dissemination pipelines involving the main proteomics repositories, and to encourage open data policies in the field. Includes Peptide Atlas, MassIVE, Panorama, PRIDE, iProX, JPOST.

The Metabolomics Workbench serves as a national and international repository for metabolomics data and metadata and provides analysis tools and access to metabolite standards, protocols, tutorials, training, and more.