|
Welcome to my Research Sources page for Going Mad in Latin America! Chao Chen, research librarian |
 |
About Scholarly Articles and Reading Tips
Key Characteristics of a Scholarly Article
- Author(s): scholars/researchers with credentials (e.g. PhD) and/or affiliations (e.g. university professor or similar knowledge-based organizations.)
- (the intended) Audience: for their academic peers in the discipline/field.
- Purpose: to further our understanding about a topic with original research, usually focusing in a narrow area of the subject (rather than to merely persuade, entertain, inform, or report.)
- Peer-reviewed scholarly articles are vetted and improved by experts in the field before publication.
- Language: scholarly language with discipline specific vocabulary.
- Structure: Relatively lengthy (at least 5 pages of text) with many citations and references to published research (footnotes and/or bibliography).
Reading Tips
A systematic approach in your reading helps you consider the article critically. A good critique is really more about your own confidence as a reader than about possession of specific knowledge.
How to Read Journal Articles Like a Professor by Michael J. Nelson.
Evaluating Information & Citing Sources
Cite sources to
- Avoid plagiarism
- Give credit to the source of an idea
- Lend credibility to your arguments
Digital Humanities Support
Kylie Burnham, Audio & video production, Graphic design, Poster design & printing Specialist ;Kylie.Burnham@tufts.edu
Kaylen Dwyer, Digital Humanities Librarianl: kaylen.dwyer@tufts.edu
Kimberly Forero-Arnías, Audio & Video Production Specialist: kimberly.forero@tufts.edu
Books | Articles
JumboSearch for Books 
Libraries Worldwide (Tufts collections and beyond)
Path of Discovery in JumboSearch, (our book catalog and more)
- Find a title/author (e.g., in assigned readings);
- Note the descriptive language of the Catalog record.
- Use that language in further searches
e.g., Click on subjects in the record to see further results and related topics:
Following are some sample titles found using the above method:
- Crossing Waters: Undocumented Migration in Hispanophone Caribbean and Latinx Literature & Art
- Locura y Trauma en la Ficción Centroamericana Reciente
- Madness in Black Women's Diasporic Fictions: Aesthetics of Resistance
- Madness and Irrationality in Spanish and Latin America Literature and Culture
- Pueblos Enfermos: The Discourse of Illness in the Turn-of-the-Century Spanish and Latin American Essay
- Slavery at sea: terror, sex, and sickness in the Middle Passage
- Women's writing of Africa and the Caribbean
- The yellow demon of fever: fighting disease in the nineteenth-century transatlantic slave trade
- Women's writing of Africa and the Caribbean
Browse on authors and their works:
(Subject Databases for) Journal Articles 
1. All subjects
2. Latin American Studies
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
- Anales de la Literatura Hispanoamericana
- Latin American Cultural Studies
- Small Axe (Caribbean Studies).
3. Subject-Specific Databases
- In EBSCOhost databases, you can select to search across the following databases, among others:
- Art & Architecture Source
- Film & Television Literature Index
- Historical Abstracts ( World history and culture)
- MLA International Bibliography (literature, folklore and related studies.)
- Women's Studies International