FMS 0094 Studies in Film Festivals: Home

Books    

• JumboSearch
• Libraries Worldwide 

 

Path of Discovery in JumboSearch, (our book catalog and more)

1. Find a relevant book (e.g., a scholar you know, or, from your assigned readings?)
2. Note the descriptive language of the Catalog record.
3. Use that language in further searches

e.g., Click on subjects in the record to see further results and related topics; and/or combine these subject phrases with other keywords for a more focused search:

Title:	Film festivals: history, theory, method, practice
Author(s):	Valck, Marijke de, Kredell, Brendan, Loist, Skadi.
Subjects:	Film festivals -- History

Some titles found with the above method:

• Contemporary radical film culture: networks, organisations and activists, 2021
• Consuming Latin America: magical realism, cosmopolitanism and the ¡Viva! Film Festival, 2021
• Documentary film festivals, 2020
• Film festivals: cinema and cultural exchange, 2021
• Film festivals: culture, people, and power on the global screen, 2011
• Film festivals and the enrichment economy: cultural value chains in a digital media age, 2023
• Film festivals and imagined communities, 2016
• LGBTQ film festivals: curating queerness, 2020
• Rethinking film festivals in the pandemic era and after, 2023
• Shaping Film Festivals in a Changing World Practice and Methods, 2025 

 

Reference Sources and Web Sites:

• Cinema and Media Studies (annotated bibliographies)
• Film Festival Research Network
• Nielsen Top Tens
• The Numbers - Movie Box Office Data ...

Journal Articles 

1. All Subjects

• JStor
• Project Muse

2. Film Studies and Related Subject Databases

• In EBSCOhost databases, you can select to search across the following databases, among others:
• America: History & Life
• Communication & Mass Media Complete
• Film & Television Literature Index
• Historical Abstracts (World history and culture)
• Women's Studies International

Tip: Crash the Research Party

Subject-specific databases such as Film and Television Literature Index. is where film historians and scholars are having their research party, sharing with each other their scholarship. Throw titles/filmmakers that interest you into the database; then "listen to" the conversations about them: how scholars have studied them? If you don’t yet have specific films/filmmakers in mind, entering keywords of topical themes, and observe what films are being associated with these topics, how and why?

3. Magazines and Newspapers

• Access World News (rich U.S. regional news)
• Factiva (more international coverage)
• More