Find Articles in JumboSearch
Want to discover everything that Tisch Library has on your topic? Try searching for your topic in JumboSearch, which simultaneously searches across all of the library's resources, including journal articles in databases, online, and in print.
Database Search Strategies
Databases respond best to keyword searching, linking keywords with AND, OR, and NOT. (learn more on our JumboSearch help page)
To search efficiently, turn your research question into a keyword search:
Research Question:
How does Gish Jen address issues of American identity?
Search One: (Search with keywords connected by “and”):
"Gish Jen" AND American AND identity
Search Two: (Truncate some of the keywords using *):
"Gish Jen" AND America* AND identity
Search Three: (Add alternate words into the search with “(or)”):
"Gish Jen" AND (America* OR "United States") AND (identity or belong*)
Truncate keywords where applicable. Truncation uses the asterisk (*) to end a word at its core, allowing you to retrieve many more documents containing variations of the search term. Truncation can also be used to find the singular and plural forms of a term. Example:
America* = America, America's, American, Americans, Americana, Americanness
Ident* = identity, identify, identities, identifies, identification
Belong* = belong, belongs, belonging
Search for Articles on Classics in these Databases
Below is a selection of online resources that include a vast number of articles on topics in Classics. The resources on this page include articles from both scholarly and popular sources, so be sure to evaluate your sources to make sure that they are appropriate for your project.
- L'Année philologiqueL'Année philologique, published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, is a specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Its subjects are Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, including early Christian texts and patristics, Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly sub-specialities such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy.
- JSTORJSTOR includes scholarship published in more than 1,400 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
- Project MUSEProvides electronic access to the full text of Johns Hopkins University Press's scholarly publications in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
- Academic Search PremierThis multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
- MLA International BibliographyThis database is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1921. The electronic version includes the Bibliography's entire print run and currently contains more than 2 million records.
Find It @ Tufts
If you don't see a link to the full text of an article you're interested, try clicking on the Find It @ Tufts icon for that article. It will try to link you directly to the full-text if we have online access.
If not, you'll be given the option to search our catalog to see if we may own that journal in print. If we don't have it online or in print, you can request the article from Interlibrary loan (ILLiad).