Find Articles in JumboSearch
Want to discover most of the resources that Tisch Library has on your topic? Try searching for your topic in JumboSearch, which simultaneously searches across most of the library's resources, including journal articles in databases, online, and in print.
Specialized Databases & Subject Indexes
Use the following databases to locate journal articles in Philosophy. Some of the databases listed below are subject-specific, such as Philosopher's Index, and others are more general, but you can find relevant articles in both types of databases. And remember that no database can provide everything you want or need to know about a topic. When researching a topic, please be sure to evaluate not only what you have found, but also what you haven't found, and ask yourself about the voices that might be missing from this conversation and why.
Also keep in mind that many databases include citations for articles but do not provide access to a complete copy. Use the Find it @Tufts button to locate articles in other places in the library or to request to borrow it from another library.
- Philosopher's IndexThis bibliographic database offers informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology and book reviews.
- ATLA ReligionThe American Theological Association's Religion Database covers journals, multi-author books, and book reviews in Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues.
- L'année philologiqueKey index to ancient history, Greek and Latin literature, and archaeology--and, in this case, ancient philosophy. Thousands of books, book chapters, dissertations, and journal articles published worldwide in many languages. Not full text.
- JSTORCovers three dozen key journals in philosophy and provides access to complete copies of all of the articles included. This database is easy to use for simple searches but it's not always the best resource for precision searching.
- Academic Search PremierThis multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
- Academic OnefileSeveral thousand journals in all scholarly subjects. Frequently provides the current issues of journals in JSTOR. Mostly full text.
Find It @ Tufts
If you don't see a link to a complete copy of an article you're interested, try clicking the Find It @ Tufts icon for that article. The Find It @Tufts button searches the rest of our collection to provide you with options for getting the article. It will link you directly to a complete copy of the article if we have online access. You might also see the option to check JumboSearch to discover if we own a journal in print. If we don't have it online or in print, you can use the link to request the article from another library through the Interlibrary loan (ILLiad) service. If you don't see this button, be sure to search for the title of the journal in JumboSearch.