Clinical Reference
- DynaMedDynaMed Plus is an evidence-based clinical decision support tool for physicians and other medical professionals for use primarily at the 'point-of-care'. It contains overviews, recommendations, specialty topics, drug information, graphics and images, direct links to article references in full text, and mobile access. It is updated multiple times daily to insure currency. Integrated Micromedex content provides resources to help better inform prescription decisions, medication management strategies and treatment decisions as a result of lab tests in the course of patient care.
- UpToDateClinical reference tool that provides current answers to patient care, diagnosis and treatment questions at the point of care. Over 200 journals are regularly scanned and synthesized into topic reviews by clinical experts. The content is peer reviewed and fully referenced.
EBP Databases
- EBM reviews. ACP Journal ClubThis collection consists of two journals: ACP Journal Club, a publication of the American College of Physicians, and Evidence-Based Medicine, a joint publication with the British Medical Journal Group. Ovid MEDLINE links to article reviews in this file from its citations for the reviewed articles.
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of EffectsThis database on Ovid contains critical assessments of systematic reviews from a variety of medical journals. Covers topics such as diagnosis, prevention, rehabilitation, screening, and treatment.
- National Guideline ClearinghouseA public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
- NeuroBITECatalogs studies of cognitive, behavioral and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment. Studies are rated for their methodological quality, evaluating various aspects of scientific rigor.
- SAMHSA Evidence-Based Practices Resource CenterThe National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices, a service of SAMHSA, the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, was suspended in 2018. While not a replacement, the Evidence-Based Practices Resource Center provides communities, clinicians, policy-makers and others with the information and tools to incorporate evidence-based practices into their communities or clinical settings.
- speechBITEProvides access to a catalog of best interventions and treatment efficacy across the scope of speech pathology practice. A joint project of The University of Sydney and Speech Pathology Australia.
- TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice)A clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
What are . . .
Definitions of evidence-based literature
- Systematic reviews use rigorous methods to locate, assess, and summarize the results of many individual studies using explicit methods that limit bias. Studies are appraised and recommendations for practice are often made. Reviews outline what is known or unknown about the effectiveness of a treatment. They may be qualitative or quantitative.
- Qualitative systematic reviews (not to be confused with qualitative research) review summaries of primary studies, but do not statistically combine the results.
- Quantitative reviews statistically combine results of a number of primary studies, and are sometimes referred to as meta-analyses.
- Randomized controlled trials are studies in which a group of clients is randomly allocated into either an experimental group or a control group. Groups are followed up for the variables/outcomes of interest. RCTs potentially offer less bias and more certainty than other study designs because the outcomes being measured are actually due to the experimental treatment condition, rather than other factors.
---definitions from OT Seeker (http://www.otseeker.com/tutorial.htm#systematic) and Penn State (http://www.libraries.psu.edu/instruction/ebpt-07/learnmore/levels.htm#levels)
