Good to know:
Information does not exist in a vacuum!
Contact a librarian if you have questions about the resources on this guide or the context in which they are presented.
Library contact
Tips for getting started
Use JumboSearch to find out what kinds of sources are immediately available to you at Tufts. JumboSearch includes results from our library catalog (books, multimedia resources, etc.) as well as journal articles.
It's also legitimate and acceptable to start by searching the open web: Google Scholar and Wikipedia can be great starting points! Researchers' lab websites, social media accounts, or public press releases can help you figure out how this topic is being presented to a general audience.
Use databases to find articles and other forms of published research
- Engineering VillageContains articles, conference proceedings, and research from a variety of engineering disciplines.
- PubMed@TuftsContains journal articles, clinical trials, and research abstracts on biomedical topics. Primarily focused on medicine, nursing, and health sciences.
- SPIE Digital LibraryCollection of books, articles, and technical papers on optics and photonics. SPIE is the primary international organization for optics and photonics research.
- Web of ScienceA multidisciplinary database with articles, proceedings, and papers in the sciences, engineering, and social sciences.
- SCOPUSScopus is a large abstract and citation database that includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and web sources. Subject coverage : Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering ; Life and Health Sciences ; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics ; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.
Use repositories to find biological data sets
- Entrez DatabasesSearch engine covering proteins, structures, and molecular data with links to relevant medical literature.
- Registry of Standard Biological PartsFrom International Genetically Engineered Machine (iGEM).