Subject Guide
How to Use This Guide
Welcome to the Tisch Library guide to resources for Latin 21: Cicero. Use the resources in this guide to find definitions, topic overviews, books, articles, and more that will help you with your research.
If you don't find what you are looking for or need help navigating this guide or any of the resources it contains, don't hesitate to contact the author of this guide or Ask Us.
Finding Resources in JumboSearch
- Search Tufts' collection, including print and online materials
- use for exploratory ("what's out there?") searches
- Use the Refine My Results menu to filter your search by resource type, publication date, and more
Dictionaries and Thesauri
Use these resources to find definitions, synonyms, and more about specific terms and their meaning.
- Pocket Oxford Latin DictionaryA more concise version of the Oxford Latin Dictionary. This version includes essential vocabulary, clear translations, usage, and grammar help.
- Thesaurus Linguae LatinaeThe Thesaurus linguae Latinae is the largest Latin dictionary in the world and covers all the Latin texts from the classical period up to about 600 A.D.
Background & Context
Use these resources to find find background information on your topic. Sources like these provide overviews of topics and descriptions of concepts and ideas.
- New Pauly OnlineA comprehensive encyclopedia of antiquity, with solid coverage of topics famous and obscure. Need a biography of Pseudo-Skimnos? This is your place.
- Oxford Classical Dictionary (4th edition)Great starting point for research in ancient Greek and Roman cultures. Contains solid definitions and biographies of people, places, things, and cultural ideas from Greece and Rome. Also good for mythological genealogy. With references to primary and secondary sources.
- Oxford Companion to Classical LiteratureGood coverage of authors, works, and plot summaries. Can't keep the Oedipus cycle straight? This is your source.
- Credo ReferenceOnline reference resources from numerous publishers. This reference resource can be searched by individual title, broad subject headings, cross-references, audio and images. Use its research mapper to search for terms and topics that are interconnected and displayed in (a) visual form. Examples of titles are: Bloomsbury Guide to Art, Bridgeman Art Library Archive, Columbia Encyclopedia, Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary, Harvard Dictionary of Music, and the Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science. The complete list of titles is available on the CREDO Reference site.
Articles: The Scholarly Conversation
Use these resources to locate scholarly (peer-reviewed) articles on topics in Classics.
- L'Année philologiqueL'année philologique is a specialized database that provides citations to scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. L'année philologique includes citations to journal articles and books, with abstracts in English, German, Spanish, French or Italian. Use this database to identify the core literature in key areas of study in classics. Since this database includes only citations and abstracts, use the FindIt@Tufts button to locate an article or book in the library's collection.
- JSTORThis database includes around two dozen key scholarly journals in Classics. All articles offer complete text online. Great resource for tracing the scholarly conversation over time.
- Academic Search PremierArticle databases like Academic Search Premier include citations to and, in many cases, the complete online text of, articles from academic journals, trade journals, magazines, and newspapers. This database is interdisciplinary, which means that, unlike subject-specific databases, it includes articles on most topics, including Classics, and can be a good place to start your research.
- Project MUSEProvides electronic access to the full text of Johns Hopkins University Press's scholarly publications in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.