HIST 0029: U.S. Foreign Relations 1900-Present

Official publication from the U.S. Army Center of Military History.

Official publication from the U.S. Army Center of Military History.

Official publication from the U.S. Army Center of Military History.

From Southern Methodist University, this collection contains 343 Informational pamphlets, government reports, instructions, regulations, declarations, speeches, and propaganda materials distributed by the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) during the Second World War.

This pamphlet contains a brief analytical description of each volume in the United States Army in World War II series.

All of the titles in the U.S. Army in World War II series (the Army's official history of World War II - commonly referred to as the "Green Books") are listed in on this page and link out to online copies of each one.

Multi-volume historical account in print. Available in the Tisch Book Stacks, call number D773 .M6.

Official publication from the U.S. Army Center of Military History.

Official publication from the U.S. Army Center of Military History.

A publication of the Naval History Division, Department. of the Navy.

Print anthology that includes a collection of 27 articles on counterinsurgency warfare and includes a broad bibliography that collectively describes the role played by the United States in various counterinsurgency and irregular warfare efforts from 1898 until 2007. Available in the Tisch Book Stacks, call number VE23 .U185 2008.

Includes the messages and papers of U.S. presidents from 1789-1913 and then from the administration of Herbert Hoover (1929-1933) to the present.

Portal to all the Presidential libraries and museums.

Selected documents online.

Print: 50 vols. Tisch Book Stacks E 806 .D614 2001

Selected documents online.

Print: 35 vols. Tisch Book Stacks E 813 .D56 1995

Selected documents online.

Print: 24 vols. Tisch Book Stacks E 835 .D63 2005

Selected documents online.

Print: 25 vols. Tisch Book Stacks E 841 .D575 2005

Browse their digital collections

Selected speeches, messages, photographs, oral histories,
audio/video, daily diary, and National Security Action Memoranda (NSAMs)

Selected Documents and Photographs from the Jimmy Carter Library Collections

Many documents are still classified, but some are available in this section of the website.

Digital Library, including archived websites.

Electronic records

The Government and Geographic Information and Data Services Department at Northwestern University Library has a comprehensive collection of over 300 posters issued by U.S. Federal agencies from the onset of war through 1945.

Guns, tanks, and bombs were the principal weapons of World War II, but there were other, more subtle, forms of warfare as well. Words, posters, and films waged a constant battle for the hearts and minds of the American citizenry just as surely as military weapons engaged the enemy. Persuading the American public became a wartime industry, almost as important as the manufacturing of bullets and planes. The Government launched an aggressive propaganda campaign to galvanize public support, and some

The Historic Government Publications from World War II contains 343 Informational pamphlets, government reports, instructions, regulations, declarations, speeches, and propaganda materials distributed by the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) during the Second World War.