Additional Resources
Purdue Online Writing Lab
Quick guides for MLA, APA, Chicago and tips on creating annotated bibliographies, evaluating sources, etc.
Citation Guide
The Chicago Manual of Style is the citation style your professor requests you to use. It is available online and in the Research Hub, Room 224, Call Number: Z 253 .U69.
Sample citations and additional resources are available on the Chicago Style Guide.
Use the Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide for more samples of different format types (chapters in books, electronic journals,etc.) when using footnotes and bibliographies.
Citing Library Databases & Web Sites
Library Database:
Author/Database producer of Site. "Title of Web Page." Title or Database producer/owner of Web site [database online] (add this if there is no other way of telling it is a website). URL (accessed date).
Example: Gevorgyan, Lilit, and Sipilä, Venla. "Country Report: Azerbaijan." IHS Global Insight [database online]. (accessed October 15, 2010).
If you are using RefWorks, be sure to use Chicago 16th edition to get the "" around the title and to have your proper nouns captialized!
Web site:
Include the url if it has a stable url or is freely accessible on the Internet
Example: Shah, Anup. "Causes of Poverty." Global Issues That Affect Everyone. http://www.globalissues.org/TradeRelated/Poverty.asp (accessed March 18, 2008).
Introduction to Zotero
Zotero is a free, simple plug-in (for Firefox) or a standalone program (with browser extensions to Google Chrome and Safari) that collects, stores and organizes references for books, journal articles, websites and other materials that you've collected and then automatically converts those references into a properly formatted bibliography. It is fairly easy to use, reliable, and well-documented. Zotero can:
- import references directly from many of the Tisch Library's databases
- create a properly-formatted bibliography that conforms to your selected output style, including APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian, or any one of hundreds of other formats
- format in-text citations, endnotes, and footnotes in the documents you are writing
- serve as your own searchable reference database
- organize references into custom groups, enabling you to track your sources by topic, course, book chapters, or other criteria of your choosing
- capture snapshots of websites
- attach notes to references, create standalone notes
- sync your library to "My Library" on the Zotero servers to save your work
Alongside tracking literature citations, Zotero stores downloaded or links to Acrobat pdf files or any other types of files on your computer.
See the complete guide for more detailed information. See the Tisch Library Workshops webpage for a schedule of workshops.
