Citation Guide
The Chicago Manual of Style is the citation style your professor requests you to use. It is available online and in the Research Hub, Room 224, Call Number: Z 253 .U69.
Sample citations and additional resources are available on the Chicago Style Guide.
Use the Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide for more samples of different format types (chapters in books, electronic journals,etc.) when using footnotes and bibliographies.
Citation Examples: Books
The examples provided below apply to the Chicago Notes-Bibliography option. The second line is usually indented 5 spaces.
Example
Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.
Single author
Franklin, John Hope. George Washington Williams: A Biography. Chicago:
University of Chicago Press, 1985.
Two or three authors
Kernighan, Brian W., and Dennis M. Ritchie. The C Programming Language.
Cliffs, N.J.: Prentice-Hall, 1978.
Editor or compiler as author
von Hallberg, Robert, ed. Canons. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1984.
Article or chapter in a book
Beech, Mary Higdon. “The Domestic Realm in the Lives of Hindu Women in
Calcutta.” In Separate Worlds: Studies of Purdah in South Asia, edited
by Hanna Papnanek and Gail Minaul, 110-38. Delhi: Chanakya, 1982.
Citation Examples: Periodicals
The examples provided below apply to the Chicago Notes-Bibliography option.
Example
Lastname, Firstname. “Title of Article.” Title of Periodical vol# (Year): Pages.
Article in a scholarly journal
Jackson, Richard. "Running Down the Up-Escalator: Regional Inequality in Papua
New Guinea." Australian Geographer 14 (1979): 175-84.
Entire issue or special section of a journal
Good, Thomas, ed. “Non-subject-matter Outcomes of Schooling.” Special issue,
Elementary School Journal 99, no. 5 (1999).
Article in a popular magazine
Weber, Bruce. "The Myth Maker: The Creative Mind of Novelist E. L. Doctorow." U.S.
News and World Report, October 1985, 42.
Article in a newspaper
Camille, Andre. "Deciding Who Gets Dibs on Health-Care Dollars." Wall Street Journal,
(March 27, 1984): Section 1.
Periodical published annually
Wilson, G. M. 1917. A Survey of the Social Business Use of Arithmetic. In Sixteenth
Yearbook of the National Society for the Study of Education, 20-22. Bloomington
IL. Public School Publishing Co.
Introduction to Zotero
Zotero is a free, simple plug-in (for Firefox) or a standalone program (with browser extensions to Google Chrome and Safari) that collects, stores and organizes references for books, journal articles, websites and other materials that you've collected and then automatically converts those references into a properly formatted bibliography. It is fairly easy to use, reliable, and well-documented. Zotero can:
- import references directly from many of the Tisch Library's databases
- create a properly-formatted bibliography that conforms to your selected output style, including APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian, or any one of hundreds of other formats
- format in-text citations, endnotes, and footnotes in the documents you are writing
- serve as your own searchable reference database
- organize references into custom groups, enabling you to track your sources by topic, course, book chapters, or other criteria of your choosing
- capture snapshots of websites
- attach notes to references, create standalone notes
- sync your library to "My Library" on the Zotero servers to save your work
Alongside tracking literature citations, Zotero stores downloaded or links to Acrobat pdf files or any other types of files on your computer.
See the complete guide for more detailed information. See the Tisch Library Workshops webpage for a schedule of workshops.
