Helpful Hints
You may be familiar with several journal collections that behave like databases such as JSTOR, this only has selected history journals, granted some of the best, but not all, and they are not the current issues. So you should really be using subject databases/indexes such as those listed on this page to search through much more!
Find It @ Tufts
If you don't see a link to the full-text of an article you're interested, try clicking on the Find It @ Tufts icon for that article. The Find It @Tufts button searches the rest of our holdings to provide you with options for getting you the article. It will try to link you directly to the full-text if we have online access. If not, you'll be given the option to search our catalog to see if we may own that journal in print. If we don't have it online or in print, you can use the link to request the article from Interlibrary loan (ILLiad). If you don't see this button, be sure to search the title of the journal in JumboSearch, restricting to the Library Catalog.
Subject Indexes for History & Other Subjects
- International Medieval Bibliography Online (IMB)An international index to medieval topics (400-1500) in literature, language, history, archaeology, art, music, theater, Arabic and Islamic studies, and religion and philosophy, and many more.
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance.An index of interdisciplinary journal literature on the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Includes citations for articles, books, bibliographies, catalogs, abstracts, and discographies.
- Historical abstractsScholarly literature in history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). This database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
- JSTORPlease note and remember that the journals in history are not all the ones that exist, maybe some of the best, and that they are not the most recent. Please be sure to use the Advanced search and make sure your terms are in the title or abstract, not full-text, for the most relevant results.
- ATLA Religion Database. 1949- .Covers all types of religions and parts of the world, including witchcraft and folklore.
- Women's Studies International1972- .
Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Includes the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.
- Feminae: Medieval Women & Gender IndexIndexes journal articles, essays, and book reviews. Check our holdings to see if we have them, otherwise order on InterLibrary Loan.
- MLA International BibliographyScholarly articles on literature and folklore. Maintained by the Modern Language Association.
- AnthroSourceA service developed by the American Anthropological Association containing a complete electronic archive of all AAA journals through 2003, as well as current issues of eleven critical peer-reviewed publications.
- Philosopher's IndexThis bibliographic database offers informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology and book reviews.
- The History of Science, Technology, and MedicineHistory of Science, Technology and Medicine reflects the influences of these fields on society and culture from prehistory to the present, and offers outstanding value for interdisciplinary research. This essential database includes records of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other related materials.
Finding Dissertations
- Library CatalogFor Tufts' dissertations written before 1997 use the catalog.
Collections of Articles, etc.
- New Perspectives on Witchcraft, Magic and DemonologyPrint: edited with introductions by Brian P. Levack, 2001
6 volumes: Tisch Book Stacks BF 1566 .N48 2001
Vol. 1. Demonology, religion, and witchcraft -- v. 2. Witchcraft in continental Europe -- v. 3. Witchcraft in the British Isles and New England -- v. 4. Gender and witchcraft -- v. 5. Witchcraft, healing, and popular diseases -- v. 6. Witchcraft in the modern world. - Articles on Witchcraft, Magic, and Demonology: A Twelve Volume Anthology of Scholarly Articles.Print: edited with introduction by Brian P. Levack, 1992. Reprint of works originally published 1929-1975. Tisch Book Stacks BF 1563 .A77 1992
12 volumes: 1 Anthropological studies of witchcraft, magic, and religion. 2 Witchcraft in the ancient world and the Middle Ages. 3 Witch-hunting in early modern Europe. 4 The literature of witchcraft. 5 Witch-hunting in continental Europe. 6 Witchcraft in England. 7 Witchcraft in Scotland. 8 Witchcraft in colonial America. 9 Possession and exorcism. 10 Witchcraft, women, and society. 11 Renaissance magic. 12 Witchcraft and demonology in art and literature.
Interdisciplinary Indexes
- Humanities IndexAn international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, HI indexes almost 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK.
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index. 1975- .Provides author, subject and citation access to journal articles and book reviews in history and many other journals in the humanities. Part of Web of Science.
- Social Sciences Citation Index. 1956- .The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. You can search both this index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index together.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)The IBSS has more than two million references to articles and books going back to 1951 in the social sciences.
- Gale Academic OneFileAcademic OneFile has over 8,000 peer-reviewed journals, the majority in full-text, from the world's leading journals and reference sources.
