Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides@Tufts

Database Searching Tips: Gale

Description

  • Scholarly and popular materials on a wide range of topics.
  • Includes scholarly and popular articles, podcasts, radio show trabscripts, reference books.
  • Partial list of databases included.
  • Allows browsing by subject and title of publication.
  • Over 50% of results are full-text.

Wildcards

  • * replaces zero or more characters within or at the end of a word.
  • ? replaces one character within or at the end of a word. Use multiple ?s to replace the specified number of characters.
  • !  replaces zero or one character; useful when you want to match the singular and plural of a word but not other forms. Can also be used for variant spellings.

Connectors

  • w# (where # is between 1 and 25) specifies that the words must be within # words of each other in the order specified, e.g., history w3 France. For words to be adjacent (#=0), just use w.
  • n# (where # is between 1 and 25) specifies that the words must be within # words of each other in any order.

Limits

Varies depending on database. Generally:

  • date of publication
  • publication type
  • availability of full text
  • source title

Save/Rerun

Select to set up email or RSS alerts.

Full Text/Document Delivery

Much full text available. To find sources that aren’t full-text, select Find it@Tufts.