EC 0015: Basic Econometrics

FRED is a data repository and a primary place to search for economic data. You can search for data from 1991 - present.

PolicyMap is a fully web-based Geographic Information System. You can even use our GIS mapping services to easily incorporate your own data and leverage it against the thousands of indicators already available in PolicyMap.

The World Bank provides free and open access to a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe, together with other datasets cited in the data catalog. Widely used datasets and features:
Development Indicators
Global Development Finance
DataBank Tool(visualizations)

Includes world map, USA map, critical trends, and more. Updated daily.

Interactive map shows where the number of new cases is rising and where it is falling in the last 14 days. Updated daily.

Data behind the map available on GitHub: https://github.com/nytimes/covid-19-data/tree/master/excess-deaths

This article from the Economist compares weekly death rates to previous years. Raw data available on GitHub: https://github.com/TheEconomist/covid-19-excess-deaths-tracker

A collaboration between the COVID Tracking Project and the Antiracist Research & Policy Center gathering the most complete race and ethnicity data on COVID-19 in the United States.

Launched by The Atlantic; compiles the latest numbers on tests, confirmed cases, hospitalizations, and patient outcomes from every US state and territory.

Updated regularly with thousands of scholarly articles & preprints, as well as related historical coronavirus research. Includes built-in digital humanities tools to extract information through SPIKE-CORD
and visually investigate associations through SciSight.

A comprehensive assessment and benchmarking of health security and related capabilities across the 195 countries

The Index combines measures from multiple sources and perspectives to offer a broad view of the health protections in place for the nation as a whole and for each U.S. state. The Index identifies strengths as well as gaps in the protections needed to keep people safe and healthy in the face of large-scale public health threats, and it tracks how these protections vary across the United States and change over time.

Run by the Economist Intelligence Unit and sponsored by Wellcome Trust, synthesizes global, health-related funding efforts in near real-time, from pledge to disbursement.

Economics papers from the National Bureau of Economic Research related to Covid-19

Demographic and Economic
Resources

See population change, density and apportionment on a map of the United States using new Census 2010 data.

The data section links to a comprehensive guide to data and statistics for macro data, international data, finance data as well as supplemental datasets from key academic economic journals, where available.

Access to Census Data, the American Community Survey, and the Economic Census.

This data portal brings together key reports and data sets divided into areas such as Dynamic Data and Maps from the New York Fed, Tools and Indicators from the New York Fed, and Key Data from the New York Fed. The reports here include quarterly trends for consolidated U.S. banking organizations, the indexes of coincident economic indicators, and the Empire Manufacturing Survey.

FRED is a data repository and a primary place to search for economic data. You can search for data from 1991 - present.

Historic federal reserve data Archival Federal Reserve Economic Data (ALFRED)

Maintains up to date links to economic data releases from many sources.

You can create and download census data from all censuses. Also available is the 1990 census, which is no longer available at American Factfinder. Labor force, income and business data available.

PolicyMap is a fully web-based Geographic Information System. You can even use our GIS mapping services to easily incorporate your own data and leverage it against the thousands of indicators already available in PolicyMap.

Simplified version of American FactFinder. Has historical census data all the way back to 1790. Has mapping capability.

The standard summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Serves as a convenient volume for statistical reference as a guide to other statistical publications and sources. The series was terminated in 2012.

National and regional GDP data

The economic census profiles U.S national and local economies every 5 years.

Detailed records of government procurement & spending. Can search by various geographies (including congressional district), by agency, by recipient, by type of program, and many others. Get summary data for agency expenditures by congressional district over time by clicking on the Trends tab. For detailed transactions, one can only search by one congressional district at a time; however, under the advanced search one can search by state and then there is an option to export the full detailed list of transactions to CSV, which includes details on the congressional district for both the recipient and place of performance.

Contains data for EU-27, the euro area, EU Member States, candidate countries and other OECD countries. Also see Eurostat

Economic Indicators and reports for Asia Pacific.

Over 75 variables for more than 150 countries including ratings and data from the International Country Risk Guide and Coplin O'Leary PRS Forecast. Updated monthly with archives back to 1984. Note: CountryData offers spreadsheet data only. For PRS text and analysis, see International Country Risk Guide and Political Risk Services, both found in LexisNexis.

Economist Intelligence Unit is a suite of global research services that includes 9 products: City Data, Country Data, Country Finance, Country Forecast, Country Profiles,and Country Risk Service.

Global Insight provides comprehensive economic, financial, and political coverage of countries, regions, and industries. The information and analysis covers over 200 countries and spans more than 170 industries using a unique combination of expertise, models, data, and software within a common analytical framework to support planning and decision making.

Periodicals, books, and analytical papers from IMF, plus links to statistical portals. Archival coverage stretches back to 1996 for many publications.

See CURRENT at a glance. If you want to see and create older reports use the Build Query option above.

Annual entries begin in 1945; quarterly and monthly entries begin in 1945. Balance of payments, interest and exchange rates, trade and banking statistics; tables for every country.

Economic and business news from more than 500 sources for emerging markets in Asia, Latin America, Eastern Europe, and the Middle East-North Africa.

The International Labour Office's database on labour statistics

Data and reports from Organization for Economic Co-operation & Development

The key tables by country statistical profiles include a wide range of indicators on economy, education, energy, environment, foreign aid, health, information and communication, labour, migration, R&D, trade and society. Historical data refer to the latest eight time periods.
Links to interactive databases.

Euromonitor's Passport, is a comprehensive market research database incorporating detailed statistics and research analysis of global markets and consumers. Its emphasis is on consumer-related industries across more than 200 countries and regions.

Open data from the UK

The World Bank provides free and open access to a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe, together with other datasets cited in the data catalog. Widely used datasets and features:
Development Indicators
Global Development Finance
DataBank Tool(visualizations)

The Atlas organizes 179 indicators from the World Bank’s development database into 25 key themes, such as Poverty: How Poor is Poor?, Education: Children at Work, Economy: People on the Move, and Environment: Energy Security and Climate Change.