Multidisciplinary Databases
Use these databases to search across many subject disciplines for journals, conferernce proceedings and other primary source materials covering health and health care economics.
- EconLitThis database is published by the American Economic Association and provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature. An expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) indexes of journals, books and dissertations, EconLit covers both economic theory and application.
- Web of ScienceProvides access to the ISI citation databases - Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Updated weekly.
- SCOPUSAn index to the scientific technical and medical literature covering 14,000 scholarly titles including 2,700 titles in Social Science, Psychology, and Economics. Updated daily. Full-text linking is available wherever the technology and the access arrangements permit and continues to expand as such arrangements allow. Integrated web searching and patent searching by Scirus.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar searches the Web for scholarly material and links to library catalogs for books and the full text of articles, which may be available from Tufts-licensed providers or for a fee from publishers. For articles, follow the "Get This Item at Tufts Link."
- Data Citation IndexData Citation Index allows researchers to search and assess research data from data repositories across disciplines and around the world.
Health and Medical Databases
The following databases will lead you to peer-reviewed articles on health and health care economics, therapy economics, medical/nonmedical determinants of health, medical care services and health insurance markets and pharmaceuticals and pharmaceutical industry information.
- Medline (Ovid)MEDLINE contains over 11 million journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, healthcare systems, and pre-clinical sciences. Ovid's version links from citations to its evidence-based-medicine databases, articles available full text @Tufts, and ILLiad. Click More Limits to restrict results to subsets for bioethics, dentistry, complementary medicine and others; particular publication types or age groups; and other factors.
- PubMed@TuftsThe National Center for Biotechnology Information's databases, including PubMed (MEDLINE), OMIM, GenBank, PubMedCentral, and the National Library of Medicine's catalog, can be searched by selecting them from Entrez's leftmost drop-down menu. PubMed covers the journal literature in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, healthcare systems, pre-clinical sciences, and bioethics. Full-text coverage of Tufts-licensed journals is available via the blue Tufts icon on its Citation and Abstract displays. Click the Tufts tab above displayed results to limit to our holdings. Direct links to the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, which Tufts licenses via Ovid, are lacking.
- Healthstar (OVID)Comprised of data from the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) MEDLINE database, Ovid's HealthStar contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research. It focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery.
- ClinicalTrials.govClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
- Cochrane Controlled Trials RegisterContains records of clinical trials collected from MEDLINE, EMBASE and other sources, and indicates what Cochrane groups are evaluating them
JumboSearch: Articles
Find It @ Tufts
If you don't see a link to the full-text of an article you're interested, try clicking on the Find It @ Tufts icon for that article. The Find It @Tufts button searches the rest of our holdings to provide you with options for getting you the article. It will try to link you directly to the full-text if we have online access. If not, you'll be given the option to search our catalog to see if we may own that journal in print. If we don't have it online or in print, you can use the link to request the article from Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad). If you don't see this button, be sure to search the title of the journal in the Tufts Catalog.
