Skip to Main Content

Research Guides@Tufts

Multimedia Production Guide

for the Digital Design Studio at Tisch Library

Downloading Video

When looking for video to include in a multimedia project, it is important to be aware of how resolution and compression can impact the aesthetic of your piece.  Resolution is the number of pixels running horizontally and vertically in your image.

The standard resolution for a project that combines video, image and audio elements is HD (1920x1080).  If you don't want your video to have artifacts, make sure the files you download are at least 1920 pixels x 1080 pixels.  You can check your files resolution by opening in a media player or video application and checking the properties of the video.  

Some websites that allow download of videos also give the option for different formats.  Since these files are usually heavily compressed, downloading the larger file type typically (not always) means it will be less compressed.  

Videos for Download

Prelinger Archives– collection of home movies, amateur films, and important films made by or produced for US corporations, nonprofit organizations, community interest groups, educational institutions and more.

Pixabay– Stock videos available for download at high resolution

National Park Service– B-roll available for download of National Parks

National Marine Sanctuaries Media Library - Select video clips and high-resolution still images from America's underwater treasures.  

Yellowstone National Park Video Library - llibrary of public domain video available for download from Yellowstone National Park

The Open Video Project– a shared digitial video collection

Library of Congress– material in the Library’s National Screening room collection available for download

open-video.org - Deveoped by UNC-Chapel Hill, Open-Video is a repository of digitized video content intended for multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other research communities.

General Videos

General Videos

The purpose of the IMA is to offer permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format. The site includes texts, audio, moving images, software, as well as archived web pages. One of the main highlights of the IMA is access to the Prelinger Film archive, currently acquired by the Library of Congress Motion Picture, Broadcasting, and Recorded Sound division.
 

C-SPAN content is easy to search from their video search site. There is a simple one-box search and an advanced search screen that allows for limiting by date, as well as by thematic category, topic, and series.

 
An online portal of multimedia content on a wide range of topics—from animal rights, health and human services, and poverty to the environment, education, and spirituality.
 
Offers original content to facilitate a cross-pollination of ideas, spirit and knowledge among storytellers, content producers, professionals from social/scientific arenas and global audiences
 
A growing curated collection of 1350+ documentary films are accessible by topic or channel. Includes material provided by established educational documentary distributors as well as first-time filmmakers.

Science Specific Video Archives

A site offered by the U.N. with professional quality videos and text under the Creative Commons license that allows you to share content.
 
Images, videos, and interactive features from the National Aeronautics and Space Administration.
 
 
70+ NOVA episodes and segments are available online (with closed captioning), and may be browsed by subjects such as Exploration, Health, Nature, Space, and Technology.
 
Provides online access to videos in the collection on a variety of health topics from sports medicine to mental health via streaming and download. Features prominent doctors presenting information on health research.

History and Politics Video Archive

Browse the entire American Experience series featuring over 200 films on a wide variety of historic topics. Watch full films online, download teacher's guides, and learn behind the scenes information from the programs' creators.
 
Provides access to primary sources depicting the Civil Rights Movement and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, and public broadcasters.
 
The History Channel provides streaming video browsable by topic or show.
 
 
The American Memory provides access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience -- a digital record of American history and creativity. The collection contains over 10 million items, and the archival footage dates back to the late 1800s.
 
From the collection description: "The National Screening Room showcases the riches of the Library’s vast moving image collection, designed to make otherwise unavailable movies, both copyrighted and in the public domain, freely accessible to the viewers worldwide."
 

Commercial/Television Archives

Thousands of vintage television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s.
 
The Archive has collected hundreds of in-depth video interviews with television legends and pioneers. These television history interviews can be browsed by person, show, topic or profession.