Subject Guide
Specialized Databases
Subject-specific databases can help you to locate scholarly articles in a particular discipline more precisely than a tool like JumboSearch. Subject-specific databases include both religion and film and media studies.
-
AFI CatalogFilm & media studies | Catalog of American Films | 1893-1974 complete coverage; 1974-present select coverage
-
ATLA ReligionReligious studies | Abstracts and full-text content
-
Communication & Mass Media CompleteCommunication studies | Abstracts, index, and some full-text coverage
-
Film & Television Literature IndexFilm & media studies | Abstracts and index
-
MLA International BibliographyLanguage & literature studies | Abstracts, index, and some full-text coverage
-
Screen Studies CollectionFilm & media studies | Abstracts, filmographies, indexes, and some full-text content
Select Journals
-
Film CriticismFilm Criticism is a peer-reviewed, online publication bringing together scholarship in the field of cinema and media studies since 1975.
-
JCMS: Journal of Cinema and Media StudiesJCMS: Journal of Cinema and Media Studies is the peer-reviewed, scholarly publication of the Society for Cinema and Media Studies (SCMS). JCMS's basic mission is to foster engaged debate and rigorous thinking among humanities scholars of film, television, digital media, and other audiovisual technologies.
-
Journal of Religion and FilmThe Journal of Religion & Film is a peer reviewed journal which is committed to the study of connections between the medium of film and the phenomena of religion, however those are defined.
-
Journal of Religion and Popular CultureThe Journal of Religion and Popular Culture is a web-based, peer-reviewed journal committed to the academic exploration, analysis and interpretation, from a range of disciplinary perspectives, of the interrelations and interactions between religion and religious expression and popular culture, broadly defined as the products of contemporary mass culture.