Composed of two databases - the Public Health and Tropical Medicine (PHTM) database, previously produced by the Bureau of Hygiene and Tropical Diseases (BHTD), and the human health and diseases information extracted from CAB ABSTRACTS. International in scope it provides comprehensive coverage of the core public health literature, particularly in the areas of tropical medicine, infectious diseases, vector control, food safety and epidemiology.
This resource covers issues in public policy, combining both PAIS Archive and PAIS International, with coverage from 1915 to present. Sources include journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material and more. The resource provides a broad perspective on social and public policies, from historical to current.
Launched in 2013, "PubAg is a portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research. At launch, it delivers over 40,000 full-text journal articles by USDA staff and includes nearly 450,000 citations. "
This database contains the leading agricultural journals published in North America. ProQuest Agriculture Journals offers the complete text as well as complete images from such journals as Agricultural Research, Forest Products Journal, Journal of Animal Science, Journal of Soil and Water Conservation and Plant Physiology.
Chemical Abstracts covers the literature of chemistry and chemical engineering including patents. To use Chemical Abstracts you must have a valid Tufts email address and register at the SciFinder Scholar web site. To register, select the above link and follow the instructions.
U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Economic Research Service
Provides a list of data sets on a varoety of topics produced by the Economic Research Service (ERS) of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.
U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
The National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) is a program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States. The survey is unique in that it combines interviews and physical examinations.
World Health Organization
Nutrition Landscape Information System (NLIS) is web-based tool provides nutrition and nutrition-related health and development data in the form of automated country profiles and user-defined downloadable data.
United States Department of Agriculture What We Eat in America (WWEIA) represents the integration of two nationwide surveys - USDA's Continuing Survey of Food Intakes by Individuals (CSFII) and HHS' NHANES. Under the integrated framework, DHHS is responsible for the sample design and data collection. USDA is responsible for the survey's dietary data collection methodology, development and maintenance of the food and nutrient databases used to code and process the data, and data review and processing.
This link provides access to NCBI's databases with links out to articles licensed by Tufts. Its MEDLINE contains over 11 million journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, healthcare systems, and pre-clinical sciences. Full-text coverage of journals licensed or owned by Tufts is available via blue Tufts print and electronic icons on its Abstract display below each citation. Links to free full text and to Tufts' holdings appear to the right of the search results.
International biomedical journal literature includes over 11 million journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, healthcare systems, and pre-clinical sciences. Provides full-text access to Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
Provides retrospective access with cited references from articles covered from 1974 in: Arts & Humanities Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, FSTA, MEDLINE and more.
An index to the scientific technical and medical literature covering 14,000 scholarly titles including 2,700 titles in Social Science, Psychology, and Economics. Updated daily. Full-text linking is available and the database contains 100% of EMBASE holdings and allows emtree vocabulary terms as keyword searches.
OpenGrey is a multidisciplinary European database, covering science, technology, biomedical science, economics, social science and humanities. The information is all in English and covers technical or research reports, doctoral dissertations, conference papers, official publications, and other types of grey literature.
This database sunset in December 2024, though its resources can still be accessed through its web archive.
OAIster, via WorldCat, provides access to digital primary source materials from libraries, archives, museums, and cultural heritage organizations worldwide.
science.gov is a gateway to over 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results.
Mednar is a free, publicly available deep web search engine that uses advanced "federated search technology" to return high quality results by submitting your search query - in real-time - to other well respected search engines then collating, ranking and dropping duplicates of the results.
Research Guides@Tufts