HIST 0138: Confucianism: From China to the Modern World

Hamilton Library, University of Hawaii at Manoa: This site features digitizing photographs, drawings, and paintings in books published from the early 20th century and before.

An initiative of the Weatherhead East Asian Institute at Columbia University, this site includes a large number of primary source materials on China dating from 4000 BCE to the 20th Century.

U.S. project aimed at providing public access to digital holdings (maps, manuscripts, monographs) as a public digital library.

From University of Wisconsin-Madison, the East Asian Collection includes historical images that present a visual archive of 20th century East Asian cultural heritage. Currently, the collection consists of images that document early 20th century China including the the Sino-Japanese Conflict (1937-1945), a visual history of Buddhist practices and temples in China, and other images of daily life in both rural and urban China.

From Fordham University, this site contains information and primary sources on Buddhism, Confucianism, and the countries of East Asia throughout their history.

Provided by the National Palace Museum in Taiwan, this site contains a variety of image and text databases; many covering biographical studies, historical archives, digital images of relics and paintings from Taiwan and China.

The Digital Collection provides free and open access to over 800,000 images from the Library’s collections. These digital images include photographs, posters, documents, maps, manuscripts and other source materials in many academic fields. These resources can cover China and other countries in Asia as well.

University of California, Berkeley: "This project explores the sudden appearance in the 10th c. of a meritocratic culture that transformed Chinese elite society and constituted the ideological foundation of China's famous civil service exams."

One of the oldest, largest and famous museums in the world, the British Museum Images holds over 6,000 images in its database, including a wealth of images of Chinese art and other materials.

The Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection. Within the Chinese Art area are thematic essays on many aspects of Chinese art, history, and culture. The essays also incorporate images.

Hamilton Library, University of Hawaii at Manoa: Lian Huan Hua literarlly means "linked serial pictures." They are pocket sized picture-story books first published by a Shanghai publisher in the 1920s. The Library has collected more than 150 titles of lian huan hua that were published mostly during the Cultural Revolution, particularly between 1971-1976, when the publication of lian huan hua was rare and difficult at that time.

One of the largest digital collections in the world, the site is suitable for anyone seeking images as primary sources reflecting Chinese, Chinese-American, Asian, or Asian-American histories.

Provided by the National Palace Museum in Taiwan, this site contains a variety of image and text databases; many covering biographical studies, historical archives, digital images of relics and paintings from Taiwan and China.

The Digital Collection provides free and open access to over 800,000 images from the Library’s collections. These digital images include photographs, posters, documents, maps, manuscripts and other source materials in many academic fields. These resources can cover China and other countries in Asia as well.

Hosted by Columbia University, this site is a Gateway to museum sites, specifically online exhibitions, according to subject area or topic, time period, country/region, and religion.

The Princeton University East Asian Library has just released a fully searchable, image-rich, free online catalog of its collection of Chinese shadow figures. The catalog includes photographs of each of the over 2,000 items in the collection, along with searchable categories and descriptions.

"The Smithsonian Collections Search Center is an online catalog containing most of Smithsonian's major collections from our museums, archives, libraries, and research units. There are 8.1 million catalog records relating to areas for Art & Design,History & Culture, and Science & Technology with 860,477 images, videos, audio files, podcasts, blog posts and electronic journals."

Yin Yu Tang, a late Qing dynasty merchants' house, was originally located in southeastern China. Re-erected at the Peabody Essex Museum in Salem, MA, Yin Yu Tang is now open to visitors. Explore the house in person or online to discover this rare example of the region's renowned architecture and to learn about the daily life of the Huang family, who lived in Yin Yu Tang for over 200 years. The online display includes high-quality images of a wide array of objects owned by this family over the years.