Citing Sources in Chicago Style
The Chicago Manual of Style is the best resource to find information about this mode of citation, which is most commonly used in history. The authoritative style guide is available in print in the library as well as online from a number of reliable sources.
The Chicago Manual of StyleCall Number: Research Hub (Room 224): Z253 .U69 2017The print version of the Chicago Manual of style is the most authoritative source for this mode of citation.
- Citing Sources: Chicago StyleGo to the Tisch Library research guide to Chicago Style for more comprehensive information about it.
- Chicago Style Quick GuideThe sample citations on this page illustrate the notes and bibliography system. Sample notes show full citations followed by shortened citations for the same sources. Sample bibliography entries follow the notes.
- Chicago Manual of Style OnlineThe Chicago Manual of Style Online is the venerable, time-tested guide to style, usage, and grammar in an accessible online format.
Citing Images in Chicago style
GUIDELINES
- An illustration number may be separated from the caption by a period or a space. Figure may be abbreviated or spelled out.
- Include artist's name, title of work (italicized), medium, measurements and the institution which houses the work.
- Include the source the image came from preceded by a statement which declares the source (for example 'In: ' or 'Source: ' or 'Available from: ').
- Be sure to include the URL and date accessed if your source is online.
- Be consistent with caption display choices throughout your paper or slideshow.
EXAMPLES
Image scanned from a book:
Fig. 1. Alice Neel, Nancy and the Rubber Plant. 1975, Oil on canvas, 203.2 x 91.4 cm. The Estate of Alice Neel. From: Ann Temkin et al. Alice Neel. New York: Harry N. Abrams, 2000. Plate 64.
Image downloaded from ARTstor:
Fig. 2. Rogier van der Weyden, Saint Catherine of Alexandria. 1430-1432, Diptych panel, 18.5 x 12 cm. Kunsthistorisches Museum, Vienna, Austria. Available from: ARTstor, http://www.artstor.org (accessed September 30. 2009).Image downloaded from museum website:
Fig. 3. Caravaggio, The Denial of Saint Peter. Early 15th century. Oil on canvas, 94 x 125.4 cm. The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York. From: The Metropolitan Museum of Art, http://www.metmuseum.org (accessed September 29, 2009).Image downloaded from Flickr Commons:
Fig. 4. Thomas Eakins, William Rudolf O'Donovan. 1981, Black and white photographic print, 6 x 8 cm. Archives of American Art, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, DC. Available from: Flickr Commons, http://www.flickr.com/photos/smithsonian/2547841439 (accessed September 29, 2009).
Image downloaded from Flickr (personal images uploaded by others):
Fig. 5. Friedrich von Schmidt, Vienna Rathaus. 1872-1883. Source: Harshil Shah, Vienna - Rathaus. 2009, Digital Image. Available from: Flickr, http://www.flickr.com/photos/harshilshah/3823135957 (accessed September 14, 2012).
From Colgate Visual Resources Guide
Citing sources information from Artstor
Introduction to Zotero
If you prefer to use a different citation manager, you might want to try Zotero, which is a free, simple plug-in (for Firefox) or a standalone program (with browser extensions to Google Chrome and Safari) that collects, stores and organizes references for books, journal articles, websites and other materials that you've collected and then automatically converts those references into a properly formatted bibliography. It is fairly easy to use, reliable, and well-documented. Zotero can:
- import references directly from many of the Tisch Library's databases
- create a properly-formatted bibliography that conforms to your selected output style, including APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian, or any one of hundreds of other formats
- format in-text citations, endnotes, and footnotes in the documents you are writing
- serve as your own searchable reference database
- organize references into custom groups, enabling you to track your sources by topic, course, book chapters, or other criteria of your choosing
- capture snapshots of websites
- attach notes to references, create standalone notes
- sync your library to "My Library" on the Zotero servers to save your work
Alongside tracking literature citations, Zotero stores downloaded or links to Acrobat pdf files or any other types of files on your computer.
See the complete guide for more detailed information. See the Tisch Library Workshops webpage for a schedule of workshops.
EndNote Web/EndNote
EndNote Web is a free online service that allows you to store, share and organize your citations so that you can access them from any computer. By installing the Microsoft Word plugin, you can cite references from your library and automatically create your bibliography as you write.
If you would prefer to use the complete desktop version, current Tufts students, faculty, researchers, and staff can arrange for a free installation of the latest version of EndNote software on their own personal computers! This will be done by a member of the university's desktop support staff. Visit the Tufts Technology EndNote page for more information on installing the software. You can also learn more about using the desktop version of EndNote here.
Creating Your Free EndNote Web Account
One of the advantages of EndNote Web is that it is completely portable and accessible from any computer in any location. Along with that, you will be able to keep all of your citations after you have completed your time at Tufts, enabling you to manage your research at any time from anywhere. Below you will find instructions for creating your free EndNote Web account.
Go to http://www.myendnoteweb.com/ while you are on campus and logged into the Tufts network, then follow the instructions to create your EndNote Web account. (Creating your account on campus will allow the vendor to recognize you as a member of the Tufts community, which allows you to access a wide array of citation styles as well as get links to full-text articles).
In addition, if you use EndNote Web on a Tufts campus network, you will see a blue “Find it @Tufts” button next to every reference in your library. If the article is available through Tufts University libraries, click that button to get to a complete copy of the article.
Download the Cite While You Write Plug-In for Microsoft Word (found by clicking the link marked “Downloads” at the top of EndNote’s home page). This will allow you to insert references and format citations and bibliographies automatically while you write your papers in Word. This plug-in also allows you to save online references to your library in Internet Explorer for Windows. Once you’ve downloaded the plug-in, check Word to see that you have an Endnote Web tab.
Using Cite While You Write for Macs: You may receive the following error code when trying to open Endnote Web in Word 2008 or 2011 - "Cannot find a copy of EndNote to launch. Error code is 10814"
Please follow these instructions:
1. Open Word.
2. Go to the "Tools" menu, choose "EndNote" and select "Cite While You Write Preferences."
3. Here, go to the "Applications" tab and select EndNote Web. Enter your registered username and password for your EndNote Web account.
4. Click OK, then restart Word and try using the tools again.