Conference Proceedings
- ERICWhen you look at a list of search results notice the 3rd horizontal list of tabs and select the one titled "Conferences."
- ISI ProceedingsAfter entering the database, remember to uncheck all databases except those that include proceedings.
Websites
AdBusters
Global network of artists, activists, writers, pranksters, students, educators and entrepreneurs who want to advance the new social activist movement of the information age. Adbusters Media Foundation publishes Adbusters magazine.
GenderAds Project
Created by Scott A. Lukas of Lake Tahoe Community College, the website is dedicated to understanding the contexts of sexism and advertising, gender and advertising, women and advertising, men and advertising, advertising and violence...
Media Education Foundation
The films in the Media Education Foundation (MEF) encourage critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media, with a special focus on representations of gender and race, and the affect these representations have on identity and culture.
Media History Digital Library
Founded by David Pierce, the Media History Digital Library digitizes collections of classic media periodicals for use by historians, artists, and others. On their homepage, visitors can look over the magazines that have been scanned so far, including The Film Daily, Business Screen, Photoplay, The Educational Screen, and Moving Picture World. In the Collections area, visitors can read brief summaries of each publication and perform an advanced search for specific terms and keywords. Additionally, the site includes press releases and a rather chatty and an interesting blog about everything from early sound projectors to stars of the silent screen. Visitors can sign up to receive their newsletter via email. (From The Scout Report, Copyright Internet Scout 1994-2013. https://www.scout.wisc.edu/)
Paley Center for Media
The Paley Center streaming collection has over 20,000 TV and Radio programs. This collection covers over 100 years of broadcast history. You must register for an account on the site.
Pew Internet & American Life Project
"Explores the impact of the internet on children, families, communities, the work place, schools, health care and civic/political life. The Project is nonpartisan and takes no position on policy issues."
