Bioinformatics Resources

The Broad Institute has developed and made freely available many software tools for the analysis of large genome-related data sets.

Database of nucleotide sequence data with tools for search and analysis.

EBI, part of the European Molecular Biology Laboratory, provides databases and tools that allow users to find and share data, perform complex queries and analyze the results. Resources include Ensembl, UniProt, and ArrayExpress.

Portal for Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics (SIB) databases and software tools for genomics, proteomics, transcriptomics and more.

NCBI maintains a variety of databases for finding and analyzing molecular biology, biochemistry and genetic data, including GenBank, Gene, Nucleotide Database, and Protein Database. Search a single database, or across all databases.

Each year, the journal Nucleic Acids Research devotes an issue to descriptions of new molecular biology databases and updates of previously reviewed molecular biology databases.

Searchable collection of databases that have been described in the journal, Nucleic Acids Research. Databases are organized by category, and each entry has a description of the database and/or a link to the review in Nucleic Acids Research.

Each year, the journal Nucleic Acids Research dedicates an issue to reports on web-based software resources for analysis and visualization of molecular biology data.

The OBRC, created and maintained by the University of Pittsburgh Health Sciences Library System, contains brief descriptions of and links for more than 2,400 bioinformatics databases and tools.