Skip to Main Content

Research Guides@Tufts

Sociology 190: Immigration: Public Opinion, Politics & Media

Periodicals

How to Look for Specific Publications

Sometimes looking for newspaper articles can be frustrating and time-consuming.  Here are some steps to help you locate newspaper titles and content.  Not all newspapers are available digitally, in some cases you may need to use microfilm to access historic content that hasn't yet been digitized.

If you have the newspaper title or a citation with the newspaper title begin by searching our E-Journal titles

  • Go to Journals & Newspapers A-Z.
  • Type in the name of the newspaper in the search box provided.
  • If found, the coverage and link(s) to the title will display.

If the newspaper title doesn't appear in the e-journal titles list

  • Go to JumboSearch and use the dropdown arrow to choose Journals under the heading marked Material Type on the right side of the page, then type in the newspaper title.
  • If it's in the Tufts Collection you can see the coverage and format (e.g. electronic, print, microform).

If the newspaper title doesn't appear in the Tufts Collection

  • Is it a U.S. newspaper? If so then use the Recent News tab in this guide and choose one of the U.S. News Aggregators and browse their publication titles.
  • Is it an international newspaper? If so then use the Recent News tab in this guide and choose one of the International News Aggregators and browse their publication titles.

If the newspaper title isn't in one of the News Aggregators

  • Use WorldCat to locate other libraries that hold the title.  Make a note of the coverage dates and format.
  • Try requesting the time period you need from another library using the interlibrary loan system ILLiad.

New York Times

To see our complete holdings, search Journals & Newspapers A-Z for the New York Times

Tisch Library provides complete access to NYTimes.com for all current students, staff, and faculty members through a Group Pass. Individual registration is required annually. Find more information and complete registration instructions at the guide to the New York Times. Use the Historical New York Times on this page for issues published prior to 1980.

Online text-only access to the New York Times (1980-present) is available via Factiva and Nexis Uni.  

Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993)  - Provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times (1851-3 years ago).

The library also has a full run of the New York Times (1851-present) on microfilm.

*Many articles written by freelance journalists will not be included in online coverage in news aggregators, such as Nexis Uni & Factiva.  You may need to rely on microfilm to get the definitive full-text of the newspaper.

Librarian

Profile Photo
Wes Fiorentino
Wes is on leave for the Fall Semester. For research support or instruction please contact Ari Gofman for Psychology or Elliot Brandow for Child Study & Human Development, Education, Sociology, and Anthropology.