What are Chicago and Turabian Styles?
Citation styles from the University of Chicago Press. Used in history and political science and in other disciplines within the humanities and social sciences. Designed for students writing term papers, Turabian is a simplified version of The Chicago Manual of Style. Note: If you can't find a citation example in the Turabian manual, see Chicago.
Chicago and Turabian provide two style options:
Notes and Bibliography. Features: Uses footnotes, typically followed by a bibliography. Facilitates referencing of unusual source types. Used often in the humanities, history, and business. See the Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide for many examples of footnotes in many formats.
Author-Date System. Features: In-text parenthetical citations of author(s) last name, publication year, and cited pages, followed by a reference. Used often in the sciences and social sciences.
The citation examples provided below are based on the Chicago Manual's 16th edition, published in 2010; the Chicago Q&A website provides additional information and clarifications.
Citation Manuals:
Introduction to Zotero
Zotero is a free, simple plug-in (for Firefox) or a standalone program (with browser extensions to Google Chrome and Safari) that collects, stores and organizes references for books, journal articles, websites and other materials that you've collected and then automatically converts those references into a properly formatted bibliography. It is fairly easy to use, reliable, and well-documented. Zotero can:
- import references directly from many of the Tisch Library's databases
- create a properly-formatted bibliography that conforms to your selected output style, including APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian, or any one of hundreds of other formats
- format in-text citations, endnotes, and footnotes in the documents you are writing
- serve as your own searchable reference database
- organize references into custom groups, enabling you to track your sources by topic, course, book chapters, or other criteria of your choosing
- capture snapshots of websites
- attach notes to references, create standalone notes
- sync your library to "My Library" on the Zotero servers to save your work
Alongside tracking literature citations, Zotero stores downloaded or links to Acrobat pdf files or any other types of files on your computer.
See the complete guide for more detailed information. See the Tisch Library Workshops webpage for a schedule of workshops.
Additional Resources
Purdue Online Writing Lab
Quick guides for MLA, APA, Chicago and tips on creating annotated bibliographies, evaluating sources, etc.
