Japanese Art and Architecture: Home

By Prof. Ikumi Kaminishi:

• Explaining pictures: Buddhist propaganda and etoki storytelling in Japan.
• Dead Beautiful: Visualizing the Decaying Corpse in Nine Stages as Skillful Means of Buddhism
• The Political Culture Of A Scroll: Jiens Appropriation Of Kitano Tenjin
• Zenmyō's True Colors: Demonstrating Non-Duality of Form and Emptiness in the Kegon Scroll.

• Aesthetic strategies of the floating world: mitate, yatsushi, and fūryū in early modern Japanese popular culture
• The life and afterlives of Hanabusa Itchō, artist-rebel of Edo.
• Painting circles: Tsuchida Bakusen and Nihonga collectives in early twentieth century Japan
• Courtly visions: the Ise stories and the politics of cultural appropriation.
• Mirroring the Japanese empire: the male figure in yōga painting, 1930-1950.

• History of Japanese Art. Penelope Mason; revised by Donald Dinwiddie.
• Births and rebirths in Japanese art. / Nicole Coolidge Rousmaniere
• A Guide to Japanese Prints and Their Subject Matter
• Images from the Floating World: The Japanese Print, Including an Illustrated Dictionary of Ukiyo-e
• Japanese Woodblock Prints: A Bibliography of Writings from 1822-1992.
• Japanese Woodblock Prints: the Reciprocal Influence between East and West
• Modern Japan: a history in documents
• Sources of Japanese Tradition

• ARTstor
• The Virtual Museum of Japanese Arts
• The National Archives of Japan
• Ukiyo-e Japanese Woodblock search
• Cultural Properties Designated by Japan（国指定文化財データベース）
• Japanese Architecture and Art Net Users System (JAANUS)
• New York Public Library Picture Collection
• New York Public Library Web Gallery of Images
• Tisch Library Special Collections

•  

• Asia Art Archive (亚洲艺术文献库)
• Digital Scrolling Paintings Project/Center for the Art of East Asia The University of Chicago
• Asian Historical Architecture
• Huntington Archive of Buddhist and Asian Art
• Online Museum Resources on Asian Art (OMuRAA)

Overviews, Recent Bibliographies and Review of Books

• Thematic Essays on Japanese Art (The Metropolitan Museum of Art)
• Oxford Art Online

 

• Art History (Annotated Bibliographies)
• Buddhism (Annotated Bibliographies)
• Japanese Architecture (Annotated Bibliographies)
• Dissertations and Theses (Check out the bibliographies of recent dissertations on a topic.)
• Dissertation Reviews (yet to be published, which "offfer a glimpse of each discipline's immediate present")

Note: check out, also, the bibliographies of books and articles in your readings.

• Recently Published Reviews (CAA Reviews)
• H-Net Reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences (1994 - )
• New York Review of Books (1963 - )

Note: check out the following Subject Databases of journal articles for review of books as well.

---

Journal Articles 

A. All subjects

• JSTOR
• Project Muse

B. Cross Search Art History and Related Subjects Databases

• In EBSCOhost databases, you can select to search across the following databases, among others:
• America: History & Life, Art & Architecture Source, Bibliography of Asian Studies, Communication & Mass Media Complete, Film & Television Literature Index, Historical Abstracts (World history and culture), MLA International Bibliography (Literature, folklore and related studies), Women's Studies International

Tip: Search for Review of Books on A Topic

• 1. limit your search to Reviews or Book Reviews

  2. Use keywords such as "review", "current research".

 

A few notable journals

• Bulletin of the School of Oriental and African Studies
• The Journal of Japanese Studies
• Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies
• Mechademia
• Monumenta Nipponica
• Positions: East Asia Cultures Critique


• The Art Bulletin.
• Art History
• Art Journal

---

Books (Library Catalogs)  

• JumboSearch for Books at Tufts libraries
• Libraries Worldwide  (known also as WorldCat; more books on a topic)

Topical keywords and phrases to consider:

 

Scrolls, Ukiyoe, the West, …

• Japanese art and the West: Japonisme, Chinoiserie Art, Japanese -- European influences ("Nihon-ga" or Nihonga or "Nihon ga") Cultural fusion and the arts -- Japan Japan* and art and influen* Japan* and art and (West* or europ*) and influenc*   Key Artists: Suzuki Harunobu, Kitagawa, Utamaro, Katsushika, Hokusai, Andō, Hiroshige, Hasui Kawase Takamura Kotaro (a poet), Okakura Tenshin (art historian & collector), Kuroda Seiki, Asai Chu, "Vincent van Gogh" and (east* or Japonisme), Manet, Édouard, Edgar Degas, Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec, Toulouse-Lautrec and japan*   Specific Forms and Styles Ukiyoe Masterworks of ukiyo-e Color prints, Japanese       -- Edo period Hiroshige and ("floating world" or ukiyoe)   Scrolls and Narrative Pictures: Narrative art pictorial and narrat* (pictorial narrative) Narrative painting -- Japan. Painting, Japanese "woodblock prints" and japan* Ukiyoe, japan* and scroll* Scrolls, Japanese -- Artworks: Genji and illustrat* (Tale of Genji in paintings, etc.) Minister Kibi , Ban Dainagon, Shigisan Engi, Hogen-Heiji Rebellion (keywords: (Hogen- or Heiji), Kitano Tenjin (Kitano Shrine), Forty-seven Rōnin in art. (Chushingura), Jigoku zoshi (Hell scrolls), Gaki Zoshi (Hungry Ghost scrolls) Scrolls Japanese, Japan* and (scroll* or emaki*) Japan* and (scroll* or emaki*) and narrat*    Liteary Works with Images Ugetsu Monogatari (based on the first woodblock edition of 1776 with illustrations....)  Exotic Japanese Stories, the Beautiful and the Grotesque; 16 Unusual Tales and Unforgettable Images. (22 collage illus. in color and black & white by Masakazu Kuwata.)   Themes: ghosts in art, monsters in art, demonology in art, grotesque in art, supernatural in art devil in art ,   Kabuki in art (gender or sex or women) and japan* and art Japanese wit and humor Artists, Filmmakers: Mizoguchi Kenji , Katsushika, Hokusai, Utagawa, Kuniyoshi   in the Broader Contexts: Art, Japanese -- History Art -- Japan -- History.

 

Japanese Architecture

• Building Types Domestic / residential,        Teahouse / Tea Room, Gardens / Landscapes,       Temple, Style / Period Shoin / Sukiya,     Edo architecture,        Buddhist Architecture Architects Arata Isozaki, Shigeru Ban, Ken Yeang, Kenzo Tange, Tadao Ando Japanese Architects

 

Buddhist Art and the Aesthetics of Tea

• Buddhist Art         China         India           Japan             Korea Buddhism and Art     Buddhist Art and Symbolism Enlightenment and Art     Women in Buddhism Buddhist Architecture Buddhist Sculpture Buddhist Painting Buddhist Gods in art Zen Monks, Tea Masters,     Sen Rikyū,       Hakuin, 1686-1769, Chashitsu (Japanese tearooms), Japanese tea ceremony Chado (art / zen)