Family History & Genealogy

Selection of U.S. newspapers from 1690-1922

1740 to 1900
American Periodicals contains the full text of a wide variety of early American periodicals such as The American Apollo (1792-1792), The Boston Weekly - Magazine (1743-1743), and The Philadelphia Minerva (1795-1798).

1808-1980.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.

This collection of newspapers "contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day..."

1827-1998

More than 170 periodicals by and about African-Americans: academic and political journals, commercial magazines,
institutional newsletters, bulletins of organizations, annual reports, and other genres.

Twelve thousand works from the Library Company of Philadelphia’s renowned Afro-Americana Collection. Includes books, pamphlets, anti-abolition literature, anti-slave-trade literature, slave narratives, sermons, and much more!

Explore manuscripts, artwork, and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.

Includes full-text and full-image articles dating back to the first issue of the NYT in 1851; the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF(r) files.

1872-1984

Starting in 1881 and coming up into the 1990's.

The Washington Post (1877-1997) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.

Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. 1785-1985 issues are currently available.

Digital primary source collection of more than 20,000 pamphlets digitized from research universities in the United Kingdom. A wide range of topics are covered, focusing on political and economic life in 19th century Britain. While the bulk of the collection is from the 19th century, there are some pamphlets included going back to 1545. To search this collection only, on the Advanced Search screen, under "Narrow By" click "Pamphlet."

Complete runs of 48 newspapers specially selected to best represent 19th Century Britain: London's national and regional newspapers; those from established country or university towns as well as the new industrial centers of the Midlands; and from Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present

Includes 130 newspapers in ten languages from 25 states, including many rare 19th Century titles. Emphasis is on
Americans of Czech, French, German, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Jewish, Lithuanian, Polish, Slovak, and Welsh descent.

SAADA (South Asian American Digital Archive) is an independent national non-profit organization working to create a more inclusive society by giving voice to South Asian Americans through documenting, preserving, and sharing stories that represent their unique and diverse experiences.

The SAOHP represents one of the first attempts in the U.S. to record pan-South Asian immigrant experiences in the Pacific Northwest using the medium of oral history.