Catalogues Raisonnés
Catalogues raisonnés present a definitive overview of an artist's body of work; all known works that exist at the time of publication are included. You can use the following sites to find catalogues on a particular artist, and then search the Tufts Classic Catalog to see whether a title is owned by a Tufts library.
- International Foundation for Art Research (IFAR) Catalogues Raisonnés databaseSearch or browse by artist's name to discover their catalogues raisonnés. Also includes catalogues that are pre-publication.
- The Print Council Index to Oeuvre-Catalogues of Prints by European and American ArtistsThis database contains entries for catalogues raisonné on European and American prints, print publishers, drawings, and photographs; and Japanese prints and photographs.
Local Painting Resources in Boston and Beyond
Don't let your research stop at libraries, databases, or the internet-- get out and explore these wonderful local institutions.
- DeCordova Sculpture Park and MuseumLincoln, MA
- Institute of Contemporary Art, BostonBoston, MA
- Isabella Stewart Gardner MuseumBoston, MA
- Massachusetts Museum of Contemporary Art (MASS MoCA)North Adams, MA
- Museum of Fine Arts, BostonBoston, MA
- Museum of Russian IconsClinton, MA
- Peabody Essex MuseumSalem, MA
- Sterling and Francine Clark Art InstituteWilliamstown, MA
Online image resources for painting
- ArtsyArtsy features almost 200,000 high-quality contemporary art images from several major galleries, museum collections, foundations, artist estates, and art fairs.
- Google Arts & CultureThis resource features over 40,000 images of artworks from museums, galleries, and cultural institutions in 40 countries. Some images are presented in "gigapixel" format, allowing for extremely detailed viewing. Using Google Street View technology, you can also take a virtual "walk" through places such as the Doge's Palace in Venice, the National Museum of Korea, and Versailles.
- Harvard Art MuseumsExplore the collections of the Harvard Art Museums, including the Fogg (western art from the Middle Ages through the present), the Busch-Reisinger (German/Austrian art from the 7th century through the present, with a focus on Secession, Expressionism and Bauhaus), and the Arthur M. Sackler (ancient, Asian, Islamic and later Indian art).
- Paintings at the Museum of Fine Arts, BostonOver 9,000 entries, with several images, from the MFA Boston painting collection.
- MFA Boston's Paintings of the AmericasA web-based catalog from the MFA Boston's Art of the Americas collection. Provides in-depth information on more than 400 works on view at the Museum, from the Colonial era to 20th-century modernism.
