Recommended Databases
Other online resources for Fashion and Textiles
SMFA Print Periodicals
SMFA Online Periodicals
- Clothing and textiles research journalOnline issues
- Journal of textilesOnline issues
- Textile research journalOnline issues
- Textile Museum journalOnline issues
Want to browse the stacks? Look at these call numbers
| GT503 - 2270 | Costume - Dress - Fashion |
| NK7310 - 7310.5 | Jewelry |
| NK8800 - 9505 | Textile arts and art needlework |
| TR679 | Fashion photography |
| TT500 - 505 | Dressmaking and women's tailoring - Fashion |
Featured Fashion and Textiles Titles
Crowns by
Sandro Miller is a 60-year-old Caucasian male with ancestral roots in Italy, Germany, and America. He is married to a most beautiful 47-year-old Black woman, ClaudeAline Nazaire, whose ancestral roots are in Haiti, the Dominican Republic, and America. His beautiful wife was the inspiration for this photographic project, a documentation of the creative, prideful, and personally expressive reality that announces Black heritage and Black tradition. The author shared the pointed, upbeat ideal of Black self-expression and idealization. He documented body art and many unspoken ways in which Black women declare their freedom - by choice and sensibility - by sculpting their managed, structured hair. Each portrait in this project recognizes and honors women's inventive power and beauty while celebrating, at the same time, their social endurance and cultural memory - the triumph of biology and genetics.
Call Number: SMFA Library: TR680 .C775 2021
The Culture: Hip Hop and Contemporary Art in the 21st Century by
A sweeping survey of hip hop's resounding impact on contemporary art and culture across the past 20-plus years Accompanying a groundbreaking exhibition originating at the Baltimore Museum of Art, this book captures the extraordinary influence of hip hop, which has driven innovations in music, visual and performing arts, fashion, and technology and grown into a global phenomenon since its emergence in the 1970s. It features approximately 70 objects by both established and emerging artists, design houses, streetwear icons and musicians working in a wide range of mediums to demonstrate hip hop's proliferation from the street to the runway, the studio to the museum gallery, and countless sites in between. The exhibition also explores how hip hop has and continues to challenge structures of power, dominant cultural narratives, and political and social systems of oppression. This fully illustrated monograph documents the exhibition and contains texts and interviews from more than 30 artists and scholars. Artists include: Nina Chanel Abney, Dionne Alexander, Maxwell Alexandre, Devin Allen, Alvaro Barrington, Jean-Michel Basquiat, Grace Wales Bonner, Mark Bradford, Jordan Casteel, Willy Chavarria, Caitlin Cherry, Troy Chew II, William Cordova, Carl Jones, Stan Douglas, John Edmonds, Gajin Fujita, Monica Ikegwu, Shabez Jamal, Kahlil Joseph, Nia June, LA II, Deana Lawson, Eric N. Mack, Emmanuel Massillon, Julie Mehretu, Murjoni Merriweather, Jayson Musson, Rashaad Newsome, Yvonne Osei, Zéh Palito, Gordon Parks, Adam Pendleton, Robert Pruitt, Rammellzee, Sheila Rashid, Rozeal, Joyce J. Scott, Tschabalala Self, Tariku Shiferaw, Devan Shimoyama, Hank Willis Thomas, Carrie Mae Weems, Vivienne Westwood and Malcolm McLaren, Abbey Williams, Pharrell Williams and Wilmer Wilson IV. Authors include: Ebony Haynes, Todd Boyd, Lester Spence, Jordana Moore Saggese, Greg Tate, Misa Hylton, Elena Romero, Ekow Eshun, Devin Allen, Michael Holman, Simone White, Salome Asega, Alphonse Pierre, David A.M. Goldberg and Tahir Hemphill, Jacolby Satterwhite, Wendel Patrick, Simon Reynolds, Seph Rodney, Jesse McCarthy, Danez Smith, Noriko Manabe, Lindsay Knight and Charity Marsh, Shaheem Sanchez, Jeffrey Q. McCune, Jr., Sekou Cooke, Jessica N. Pabón-Colón, Martha Cooper, Skeme, Alex de Mora and Lawrence Burney.
Call Number: SMFA: NX460.5.H57 C85 2023
Deganit Stern Schocken: How Many Is One by
The oeuvre of Deganit Stern Schocken (b. 1947) has delved into the socio-political question of place, creating works in which text is incorporated as an integral part of the object.
Call Number: SMFA Library: NK7398.S74 H69 2021
Diva! Italian Glamour in Fashion Jewellery by
"A book about costume jewelry and its creative intersections with Italian excellence, Diva! presents 200 Italian fashion jewels from the Dolce Vita of the 1950s to the Prêt-à-Porter of the 1980s, from the minimalism of the 1990s to the neobaroque of the new millennium, telling a typically Italian story--one that combines creativity and manufacturing, craft and industry, art and technology, beauty and innovation. Designers include: Enzo Pirozzi, Agalma Medusae di Giovanna Micali, Verde Alfieri, Algares di Alba Gallizia, Anna e Alex, Aonie, Rosalba Balsamo, Barbara Biffoli, Giulia Boccafogli, Bea Bongiasca, Mario Bottiglieri, Valentina Brugnatelli, Ca&Lou, Maria Calderara, Ida Callegaro, Fabio Cammarata, Barbara Cardamone, CARDILLO_design, MW di Maria Jennifer Carew, Elisabetta Carozzi, Monica Castiglioni, Rossella Catapano, Vittorio Ceccoli, Cristina Chiari, Sandra Di Giacinto Design, Sandra Dipinto and Eandare di Lucilla Giovanninetti."--Vendor website.
Call Number: SMFA Library: NK4890.C67 D58 2021
Female View by
"Although the medium of photography has been shaped by women for decades, most photo publications and exhibitions have focused primarily on the male gaze of the female body. Throughout the 20th and 21st centuries, countless female photographers have worked for influential magazines such as Harper's Bazaar and Vogue, shaping the style of their time. This book traces the transformation of the photographic image from the 1930s to the present day: from the fashion magazine to the showroom and the coffee-table book to videos and digital self-staging in social media today. Photographers include: Lillian Bassman, Sibylle Bergemann, Louise Dahl-Wolfe, Corinne Day, Madame d'Ora, Ingeborg Hoppe, Nadine Ijewere, Ute Mahler, Charlotte March, Sarah Moon, Amber Pinkerton, Elizaveta Porodina, Regina Relang, Bettina Rheims, Alice Springs (June Newton), Deborah Turbeville, Ellen von Unwerth and Yva, among others."-- Publisher's description.
Call Number: SMFA : TR679 .F46 2022
Garmenting by
"Garmenting: Costume as Contemporary Art centers on contemporary artists' explorations of how dress both expresses and shapes who we are-our personal, cultural, and political identities-and it is my hope that their work will help stimulate discussion and foster understanding during these troubled times. As the quintessential "outside the box" thinkers, artists have always been on the front lines of driving and processing social change; there is a reason cutting-edge art has long been referred to by a military term, "avant-garde." As society rebuilds, artists' insights about our world and how we inhabit it are more necessary than ever"-- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: SMFA Library: NK4860 .G37 2022
Indigenous Woman by
This is not a magazine about fashion, lifestyle, or celebrity. Indigenous Woman is an independent art publication dedicated to the celebration of Mayan Indian heritage, the navigation of contemporary indigeneity, and the ever-evolving self-image. It is a vision, an overture, a provocation. The word "indigenous" here is used to refer to native cultures from a particular region, but also as a synonym for the natural and innate. It signifies a real, authentic, native-born woman. There was a time when I believed there was no such title for me to claim. I was driven to question how identity is formed, expressed, valued, and weighed as a woman, as a transwoman, as a latinx woman, as a woman of indigenous descent, as a femme artist and maker? It is nearly impossible to arrive at any finite answers, but for me, this process of exploration is exquisitely life-affirming. ... Indigenous Woman marries the traditional to the contemporary, the native to the post-colonial, and the marginalized to the mainstream in the pursuit of genuine selfhood, revealing cultural inequities along the way. This is a quest for identity. Of my own specifically, yes, but by digging my pretty, painted nails deeply into the dirt of my own image I am also probing the depths for some understanding of identity as a social construction"--Artist's statement
Call Number: SMFA: TR681.W6 G88 2018
Italian textile design : from art deco to the contemporary : printed textiles by
"From experiments by Lucio Fontana and Gio Ponti to Emilio Pucci's kaleidoscopic motifs and Germana Marucelli's optical patterns; from Roberta di Camerino's trompe l'oeil effects to the pop sensibilities of Ken Scott, Elio Fiorucci, Gianni Versace, and Franco Moschino; from the work on the heritage by Prada, Marni, and Valentino to the valorisation of Missoni's corporate archive and the hybrid graphic designs by Maison Laponte, Gentile Catone, Colomba Leddi and IUTER, these artists, fashion designers, and companies helped create the worldwide fame of Italian fabrics from the early twentieth century to contemporary times. A history closely entwined with the concept of 'Made in Italy,' contributing significantly to Italy's international reputation as a citadel of high-quality fashion and design. Over 500 illustrations, photographs, and preparatory drawings, many previously unpublished, from corporate and private archives, recount some of Italy's most important creative achievements."--Supplied by publisher.
Call Number: SMFA: PC1974.F37 L56 2023
Kimono by
"The kimono is the ultimate symbol of Japan, revered within the country as the embodiment of national culture and regarded internationally as an exotic fascination. The iconic garment is often viewed as traditional, unchanging and timeless, but this book counters that conception, presenting the kimono as highly dynamic and fashionable dress. The cultural and sartorial significance of the kimono is explored in historical and contemporary contexts, both in Japan and the West, where its impact on clothing styles has been felt since the seventeenth century. Beautifully illustrated, the book features over 250 kimono and kimono-inspired garments from the V&A and collections around the world, revealing its sartorial influence on pop stars from David Bowie to Björk and examining the ways in which fashion designers such as Issey Miyake, John Galliano and Alexander McQueen have reworked its legacy."--publisher's description.
Call Number: SMFA Library: GT1560 .K96 2020
Lee Alexander Mcqueen: Mind, Mythos, Muse by
McQueen's iconic fashion juxtaposed with historic textiles and works of art, revealing the designer's dynamic approach to storytelling One of the most significant contributors to fashion between 1990 and 2010, British designer Lee Alexander McQueen was both a conceptual and a technical virtuoso. His critically acclaimed collections synthesized his unique training in Savile Row tailoring, theatrical design and haute couture with a remarkable breadth and depth of encyclopedic and autobiographical references spanning time, geography, mediums and technology. McQueen's singular viewpoint produced exquisitely constructed, thought-provoking, often subversive or allegorical fashion. Taking a reflective look at McQueen's artful design process, this book documents the designer's diverse sources of inspiration by displaying McQueen's imaginative fashions alongside related artworks. McQueen's encyclopedic references range from ancient Greece and Rome to Tibetan silk brocade patterns, 17th-century Dutch painting, the prints of Goya and the films of Stanley Kubrick. In each of these cases and beyond, examples of McQueen's imaginative and extraordinary work are displayed alongside artworks from LACMA's permanent collection. Spanning art from a multitude of mediums, eras and cultures, this publication provides a new and innovative assessment of McQueen's work and highlights his mindful approach to storytelling and construction through fashion. Lee Alexander McQueen (1969-2010) was one of the most important fashion designers at the turn of the 21st century. In 2011, following his death, the Costume Institute in New York organized an enormously successful retrospective of his work at the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
Call Number: SMFA: GT523 .E84 2022
On Body and Soul by
From the beginning of time, armor and amulets have been used for protection and are found in cultures across the globe, and those who crafted them have been esteemed as artists by their communities. The contemporary examples showcased here, in 200 eye-catching images, demonstrate the enduring artistry of the forms and the crucial role such objects can play in safeguarding body and soul, especially in our current Age of Terror. An exciting array of protective hardware (armor, barriers, wearable weaponry) and protective "software" (charms, amulets, talismans), reveal a broad range of strategies for human defense. Focusing on work from the twenty-first century, this captivating book features some of today's finest artists and metalsmiths and testifies to the continued relevance of this creative pursuit. An introductory essay charts the wider cultural terrain of protective ornament--touching on issues of history, anthropology, and psychology, while portfolio sections spotlight subsets of defensive and offensive wear. Among the works of art are helmets, elaborate knuckledusters, pendants, collars, rings, bracelets, metal jackets, and chain mail, all designed for safety.
Call Number: SMFA: NK7310.5 .R46 2014
Radical Fashion Exercises by
Over one hundred tried, tested, and speculative exercises that expand the way we look at fashion, how we are part of its system, and how we can practice fashion otherwise. Radical Fashion Exercise contains a copious collection of bottom-up activities, prompts, and workshops designed by contributors (from all around the globe), who explore fashion in an expanded field. Designers, curators, artists, educators, fashion practitioners, DIY sewers, students, and other creatives responded to the book's open call with contributions that challenge how to practice fashion and reflect on its systems, politics and economics. The exercises collected in this book embrace interdisciplinarity, experimentation, and aesthetics and widen fashion's horizons as a medium for expression, embodiment and sociality. The exercises are gathered under the following themes: Imagining and Dreaming; Going Outside; Using the Body; Working Together; Reading and Writing; Making, Finding, Tracing; Re-viewing Images; Digging Deep; and Sourcing and Re-sourcing. Radical Fashion Exercises assembles methods for learning and practicing fashion in meaningful, radical and responsible ways. The book is an inspiring tool for design students, designers, writers, and practitioners of diverse disciplines to challenges fashion as a commodity and polluting structure in these times of uncertainty and upheaval.
Call Number: SMFA: TT508 .R33 2023
Radical Fiber: Threads Connecting Art and Science by
Can crochet explain the complexities of non-Euclidean geometry? How does the 1804 Jacquard loom relate to modern computing? Radical Fiber celebrates the overlap between art, science, interdisciplinary creativity and collaborative learning For centuries, fiber arts have influenced sciences as diverse as digital technology, mathematics, neuroscience, medicine and more. Radical Fiber explores this relationship through contemporary art and historical artifacts that address five key themes: shape, machine, body, brain and community. How did the accidental discovery of synthetic mauveine dye in 1856 pave the way for modern pharmaceuticals while also generating toxic waste? Why do we respond differently to a woven photograph than a printed one? These and other questions reframe the fiber/science intersection and ask how the medium can be used to improve our world for the future. Radical Fiber features a new artwork created by amateur and professional makers around the globe: the Saratoga Springs Satellite Reef, part of the Crochet Coral Reef project by Christine and Margaret Wertheim and the Institute For Figuring. Alongside numerous unidentified artists, additional artists and creators include: Lia Cook, Brock Craft, Veronica Dry, Anna Dumitriu, Ellis Developments, Hanne Kekkonen, Kintra Fibers, Elaine Krajenke Ellison, Karen Norberg, William Henry Perkin, Helen Remick, Dario Robleto, Daniela Rosner, Samantha Shorey, John Sims, Soft Monitor (Victoria Manganiello and Julian Goldman), Daina Taimina, Cecilia Vicun?a and Carolyn Yackel.
Call Number: SMFA: TT699 .R33 2023
STRING : ōhata masato ātowākusu zōkei tekunikku by
The book covers everything from sketching in ZBrush, sculpting, to advanced techniques in MarvelousDesigner for creating clothes and shoes, making translucent vinyl, and painting lifelike skin textures. It thoroughly and clearly explains the tricks and techniques behind creating attractive sculptures, including supple arms and legs, faces that change expression depending on the viewing angle, and realistic details in shirts, shoes, and accessories.
Call Number: SMFA: N7359.O33 A4 2024
Textures by
"Textures synthesizes research in history, fashion, art, and visual culture to reassess the "hair story" of peoples of African descent. Long a fraught topic for African Americans and others in the diaspora, Black hair is here addressed by artists, barbers, and activists in both its historical perceptions and its ramifications for self and society today. Combs, products, and implements from the collection of hair pioneer Willie Morrow are paired here with masterworks from artists like Sonya Clark, Lorna Simpson, Mickalene Thomas, and Alison Saar. Exploring topics such as the preferential treatment of straight hair, the social hierarchies of skin, and the power and politics of display, Textures is a landmark exploration of Black hair and its important, complicated place in the history of African American life and culture."--Google Books
"Artists: Hector Acebes, Derrick Adams, Karo Akpokiere, Deborah Anzinger, Keturah Ariel, April Bey, Charles Bohannah, Margaret Bowland, Nakeya Brown, Jean-Baptiste Carpeaux, Tawny Chatmon, Sonya Clark, David Driskell, Sarah Duah, Andrew Esiebo, Joseph Eze, Amber Ford, Yrneh Gabon, Olaf Hajek, Nakazzi Hutchinson, Shara K. Johnson, Eric Lafforgue, Annie Lee, Delita Martin, Charlotte Mensah, Lebohang Motaung, Zanele Muholi, Althea Murphy-Price, Nontsikelelo Mutiti, Woodrow Nash, Sharon Norwood, Glenford Nuñez, Charly Palmer, Gordon Parks, Faith Ringgold, Lezley Saar, Augusta Savage, Ngozi Schommers, Devan Shimoyama, Mary Sibande, Lorna Simpson, Nelson Stevens, Ibrahima Thiam, James Van Der Zee, Lina Viktor, Nafis White, Kehinde Wiley, Masa Zodros (and dozens of unidentified artists across African and American people groups)."--Publisher website
Call Number: SMFA: NX650.H34 T39 2020
Vitamin T: Threads and Textiles in Contemporary Art by
A global survey of more than 100 artists, chosen by art-world professionals for their work with threads, stitching, and textiles. Celebrating tapestry, embroidery, stitching, textiles, knitting, and knotting as used by visual artists worldwide, Vitamin T is the latest in the celebrated series in which leading curators, critics, and art professionals nominate living artists for inclusion. As boundaries between art and craft have blurred, artists have increasingly embraced these materials and methods, with the resulting works being coveted by collectors and exhibited in museums worldwide. Vitamin T is a vibrant and incredibly timely survey -- the first of its kind--Publisher's description.
Call Number: SMFA: NK8810 .V58 2019
The Wig by
"Whether in a courtroom or a dressing room, wigs come in many forms and represent many things: from power, to sexuality, parody, health, self-identity, and disguise. Wigs are present at parties and in chemotherapy rooms, in pop music and contemporary art. In this witty and eloquent book, Luigi Amara reflects on the curious history of the wig and along the way takes a sideways look at Western civilization. Amara shines light on the starring role played by the wig throughout history, from ancient Egypt to the court of Louis XIV, and from British courtrooms to drag shows today. Containing many striking and unusual images, the book will appeal to a wide audience, from those interested in the history of fashion to readers of philosophy, art, culture, and aesthetics"--Publisher's description.
Call Number: SMFA Library: GT2290 .A4313 2020
Willi Smith by
Before Off-White, before Hood By Air, before Supreme, there was WilliWear. Willi Smith created inclusive and liberating fashion: "I don't design clothes for the queen, but the people who wave at her as she goes by," he said. A rising star from the time he left Parsons, Smith went on to found WilliWear with Laurie Mallet in 1976 and became one of the most successful designers of his era by his untimely death in 1987. Smith broke boundaries with his streetwear, or "street couture," and trailblazed the collaborations between artists, performers, and designers commonplace today in projects with SITE Architects, Nam June Paik, Christo and Jeanne-Claude, Spike Lee, Dan Friedman, Bill T. Jones, and Arnie Zane. Essays by leading figures from the worlds of fashion, art, architecture, and cultural studies paired with never before-seen images and ephemera make Willi Smith essential reading for the history of streetwear culture and the evolution of fashion from the 1970s to today.
Call Number: SMFA: TT505.S59 A4 2020
Worn by
A NEW YORKER BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR * A sweeping and captivatingly told history of clothing and the stuff it is made of--an unparalleled deep-dive into how everyday garments have transformed our lives, our societies, and our planet. "We learn that, if we were a bit more curious about our clothes, they would offer us rich, interesting and often surprising insights into human history...a deep and sustained inquiry into the origins of what we wear, and what we have worn for the past 500 years." --The Washington Post In this panoramic social history, Sofi Thanhauser brilliantly tells five stories--Linen, Cotton, Silk, Synthetics, Wool--about the clothes we wear and where they come from, illuminating our world in unexpected ways. She takes us from the opulent court of Louis XIV to the labor camps in modern-day Chinese-occupied Xinjiang. We see how textiles were once dyed with lichen, shells, bark, saffron, and beetles, displaying distinctive regional weaves and knits, and how the modern Western garment industry has refashioned our attire into the homogenous and disposable uniforms popularized by fast-fashion brands. Thanhauser makes clear how the clothing industry has become one of the planet's worst polluters and how it relies on chronically underpaid and exploited laborers. But she also shows us how micro-communities, textile companies, and clothing makers in every corner of the world are rediscovering ancestral and ethical methods for making what we wear. Drawn from years of intensive research and reporting from around the world, and brimming with fascinating stories, Worn reveals to us that our clothing comes not just from the countries listed on the tags or ready-made from our factories. It comes, as well, from deep in our histories.
Call Number: SMFA: GT511 .T53 2023
