Fashion and Textiles

Digital versions of past exhibits from Toronto’s Bata Shoe Museum. Includes teacher’s resources.

An auction house specializing in textiles and fashion. You can browse images of their upcoming and past sales.

CoPA-Online contains over 55,000 scanned images (garments & pattern schematics) from 61,000 commercially produced patterns, dating back to 1847. User accounts are no longer needed to search the database. Please contact copa@etal.uri.edu with any comments or questions you may have.

Though still under development, this site includes images and information representing about 75% of the Cooper-Hewitt’s collection of textiles, product design, decorative arts, and graphic design.

For over 40 years, the Cora Ginsberg Gallery has specialized in museum quality antique costume of the 18th and 19th centuries and in European embroideries, silks, and printed textiles of the 17th - 20th centuries. Browse their site for an ever-rotating selection of textiles and costumes.

Search over 30,000 images from the collections of the Costume Institute and the Brooklyn Museum Costume Collection . You can direct your search by designer, material, geographic location, or era.

Comprehensive background information on fashion, browsable by culture and era.

This guide was created by the library at one of the world's premier fashion schools. If you find a resource that is not available through the SMFA Library, please let us know and we can try to track it down for you.

Presents image and text for approximately 200 objects from the KCI collection, arranged in chronological order.

Search the collection or browse by era.

Explore highlights from the MFA Boston's David & Roberta Logie Department of Textile & Fashion Arts.

This digital collection contains "several rare and unusual published resources of interest to students of western dress and fashion from the 19th to the early 20th-century. Includes historical surveys as well as manufacturers' booklets and sample swatch catalogs."

Images and information from the V&A’s Fashion collection. Key areas include rare 17th-century gowns, 18th-century ‘mantua’ dresses, 1930s eveningwear, 1960s daywear, and post-war couture.