Internet & New Media Art

A Chicago-based art & design studio. Their practice involves "all aspects of research and production including conceptual development, coding, aesthetics, visual/sound/media design, networking/configurations, and technology development."

Supported by Google, DevArt provides tools for "art made with code" and showcases examples of work.

A project made in response to DevArt, it argues "There is no such thing as DevArt, there is only art."

A great site for learning about, and buying affordable supplies for, DIY digital projects such as coding, hacking, arduino, and robotics.

The ADA documents the rapidly evolving field of digital installation.

An extensive archive of digital media art from the last 25 years. It consists of the Catalog Archive and material documenting the Ars Electronica Festival (from 1979), the Archive of the Prix Ars Electronica (from 1987), material on Ars Electronica projects as well as biographies of the artists and theoreticians who took part in them.

"The ArtBase is Rhizome's archive of digital art, freely accessible to the public online."

Background information on key digital artists .

Daata Editions is an online platform for the sale of artist commissioned video, sound and web art editions. All sold artworks are on view for research and educational purposes in the archive section of the website.

Aims to further human knowledge by supporting artistic, scientific and technological research.

Supported by Google, DevArt provides tools for "art made with code" and showcases examples of work.

A comprehensive resource for digital art & culture information. Includes articles, essays, news, a forum, and a continuously updated resource list.

A list of resource from DOCAM (the Documentation and Conservation of the Media Arts Heritage)

The go-to site for news, commentary, and criticism about the contemporary art world.

An exhaustive list of resources compiled by a San Francisco State University art professor. Includes links to artists’s websites, relevant art festivals, online essays, and bibliographies.

Outlines best practices for preserving digital files.

Introduces a range of topics related to media and art. This site’s goal is to establish a freely accessible online portal to quality content.

A portal to information about media arts & electronic culture. Includes an archive, teaching resources, video lectures and information about media art research.

An international non-profit association promoting the development and understanding of new media art. Represents artists, designers, educators, students, and researchers with an interest in digital media, electronic media, mobile media, virtual media, and emergent media.

Extensive information on artists, glossary terms, chronological landmarks, and further resources.

Affiliated with the New Museum, Rhizome is dedicated to the creation, presentation, preservation, and critique of emerging artistic practices that engage technology.

From Columbia University, a collection of online reference materials about new media art.

Turbulence commissions, exhibits, promotes, and archives hybrid networked art forms. Browse the archives for examples of work commissioned by Turbulence dating back to 1996.

Contains information from 30 years of activities organized by V2_. Collects documentation about events, people, organizations and artworks, and includes essays, interviews, and publications that have played a role in V2_'s history.

The Whitney Museum’s portal to Internet art and an online gallery space for commissions of net art and new media art. Provides access to original works commissioned specifically for artport by the Whitney, documentation of net art and new media art exhibitions at the Whitney, and new media art in the Museum’s collection.