Finding Secondary Sources in History and Other Subjects
- Historical abstractsScholarly literature in history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). This database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
- JSTORPlease note and remember that the journals in history are not all the ones that exist, maybe some of the best, and that they are not the most recent. Please be sure to use the Advanced search and make sure your terms are in the title or abstract, not full-text, for the most relevant results. Not all history journals, though! Be sure to use Historical Abstracts to get a comprehensive search!
Includes BOOK REVIEWS! Check the box next to Reviews to get references to just book reviews. - Project MuseLike JSTOR, this e-journal collection provides full-text access to academic journals in a variety of fields. Unlike JStor journals are more current. Not all history journals, though! Be sure to use Historical Abstracts to get a comprehensive search!
- PAIS Index1915 to the present. Use this to search Current Digest of the Soviet Press
- Music IndexIndex to English-language and international periodical articles begun in 1949.
- ATLA Religion DatabaseCovers all religions and parts of the world.
- Women's Studies InternationalCovers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Includes the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.
Google Scholar
Find It @ Tufts
If you don't see a link to the full-text of an article you're interested, try clicking on the Find It @ Tufts icon for that article. The Find It @Tufts button searches the rest of our holdings to provide you with options for getting you the article. It will try to link you directly to the full-text if we have online access. If not, you'll be given the option to search our catalog to see if we may own that journal in print. If we don't have it online or in print, you can use the link to request the article from Interlibrary loan (ILLiad). If you don't see this button, be sure to search the title of the journal in JumboSearch, restricting to the Library Catalog.
