Film

A collection of classic movies, from the 1910s through the 1970s, that are in the public domain and free to stream.

This resource links to over 700 movies, ranging from Hitchcock to Film Noir to Tarkovsky to westerns, that are free to stream.

The Moving Image Archive contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users, ranging from classic full-length films to daily alternative news broadcasts to cartoons and concerts. Many are available for free download.

Not actually a free resource, but you can try it out at no cost. For $5.99 a month, you have access to a continually rotating selection of classic, independent, and experimental films.

A small but quality selection of streaming films. You can limit by genre, production year, duration, and more.

Features full-length and short films across a variety of genres, free to stream or download. The Public Domain Review is "an online journal and not-for-profit project dedicated to promoting and celebrating the public domain in all its richness and variety."

The Video Data Bank is committed to fostering awareness and scholarship of the history and contemporary practice of video and media art, to serving the artists represented in the VDB collection, to providing access to the collection, and to ensuring the future of the collection for generations to come.

The comprehensive streaming and downloadable film collection of UbuWeb, a clearinghouse for all things avant-garde. Dive in...

News and information about films and the film industry.

An internet database for experimental film and video art.

News and resources on experimental film

The website of the journal Film Comment. Contains their blog and selected content from the publication.

The FLI contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001.

The website of the journal Film Quarterly. Contains selected content from the publication.

This comprehensive site dedicated to independent film includes news, reviews, articles, interviews, podcasts, and more.

A comprehensive list of film and video artists. Most artist entries include bios, filmographies, film stills, and synopses.

A collaborative database of audio samples that are free to use and remix.

A comprehensive resource for film equipment.

A free guide to the technological aspects of filmmaking, available in EPUB and PDF format.

A gateway to the best online resources related to film, television, and digital media.

This long-form zine will walk you through cameraless animation, handprocessing film, and other tasty treats

Per the site, "Senses of Cinema is an online journal devoted to the serious and eclectic discussion of cinema."

Features hundreds of feature film director profiles.

Created and is curated by Barbara Flueckiger, professor at the Institute of Cinema Studies, University of Zurich.This resource includes an image gallery and a bibliography for further reading.