Books in JumboSearch
You can limit your JumboSearch results to include only books by selecting Books under the heading marked Resource Type on the left side of the results page.
Try Browsing the Stacks!
If you find one good book by searching JumboSearch, write down the call number and browse the library stacks to find books on the same topic located all around it. Or just try browsing the call number ranges featured here!
Children in Colonial AmericaCall Number: E162 .C47 2007
Colonial America in an Atlantic WorldCall Number: E188 .B79 2017
A Companion to Colonial AmericaCall Number: E187 .C75 2003
On the Rim of the Caribbean: Colonial Georgia and the British Atlantic WorldCall Number: F289 .P74 2013
The Royal Navy and the British Atlantic World, C. 1750-1820Call Number: DA87 .R63 2016
Unconquered: The Iroquois League at War in Colonial AmericaCall Number: E99.I7 B22 2006
Find Books in JumboSearch
Want to discover the books that Tisch Library has on your topic? Search by keyword, subject, or author/creator in JumboSearch, which simultaneously searches across all of the library's resources, including both print and eBooks. After you've entered your search terms, use the resource type limiter on the left side of the page to select Books.
Suggested Subject Terms
Digital Collections of Older Books
- Early American Imprints I: Evans, 1639-1800An online collection reproducing every extant book, pamphlet, and broadside published in America from 1639 to 1800 - the complete printed, non-serial source materials of American culture for the 17th and 18th centuries.
- Early American Imprints II: Shaw Shoemaker, 1801-1819Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the distinguished bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.
- Making of the Modern World Digital ArchiveFull-text searching of digital facsimile images of literature on economy and business, published from 1450 through 1850.
- Early Encounters in North AmericaAn expanding source of letters, diaries and other accounts of early encounters between Europeans and Native Americans from the mid-1600s through the mid 1800s. This resource is fully indexed and can be searched in a wide variety of ways.
- Afro-Americana Imprints 1535-1922Twelve thousand works from the Library Company of Philadelphia’s renowned Afro-Americana Collection. Includes books, pamphlets, anti-abolition literature, anti-slave-trade literature, slave narratives, sermons, and much more!
- Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North AmericaExplore manuscripts, artwork, and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
- Records of the American ColoniesPublished documents--legislation, court proceedings, records, correspondence, etc.--from the 13 original colonies and their predecessors.
- HathiTrust Digital LibraryHathiTrust is a large-scale collaborative repository with over 10 million volumes including content digitized via the Google Books project, Internet Archive, and by local libraries. Public domain content is full-text; non-public domain content (post-1923) is for full-text searching only. Since Tufts is a member, those with a Tufts login can download the pdf of pre-1923 materials and can build a personal collection. To login select Collections, then select login from the upper right; choose Tufts University and login using your Tufts username and password.
- Internet ArchiveThe Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, they provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, the print disabled, and the general public.
Searching Hints
JumboSearch and BLC WorldCat are the two most important places to search for books and recent publications.
To find primary sources in JumboSearch, use terms such as: personal narratives, memoirs, memorials, correspondence, letters, diaries, etc. Of course, look for works by individuals of the time.
Books Beyond Tufts
To locate books in other libraries when we either don't own them or our copy is checked out, use BLC WorldCat. Once you've found the book you want, use the BLC request form or ILLiad to request the book be delivered to Tisch. The book will be delivered to the Tisch Library circulation desk, within 2 to 5 days, and you will be notified via email on its arrival. There is no charge for this service.
Finding Books in the Library
Below you will see the floor plan of Level 1 which is downstairs and where the majority of the books are shelved. The books are arranged by call number starting with A and the snaking their way around the floor. Each stack end is labeled with the first and last call number so all you have to do is figure out if your call number falls between them! Once you get the idea you won't need a floor plan to find your books.
Tisch Level 1 -- Where the books live downstairs!
