DNC 0085: Dance and the Hollywood Musical: Home

Overviews

• Dance and Film. (an annotated bibliography.)
• Dance Studies: the Basics ; print copy: GV1594 .B88 2012  
• Dance Words
• International Encyclopedia of Dance
• The Oxford Dictionary of Dance
• The Oxford Handbook of Screendance Studies

Streaming Videos

• Black Studies in Video
• BroadwayHD
• Dance in Video
• Digital Theatre Plus
• Ethnographic Video Online
• Films from Kanopy
• Jacob's Pillow Dance Interactive
• Numeridanse
• Opera in video
• PBS Video Collection

• **see also, Finding Videos

---

Digital Images

• ARTStor
• Library of Congress Performing Arts Encyclopedia
• (NYPL) Jerome Robbins Dance Division 
• Diaghilev and the Ballets Russe, 1909-1929: When Art Danced With Music
• Ballet Russe Scenery Collection -  Butler University
• Critical Dance Forum Gallery
• Voice of Dance
• An Invitation to Dance (American Antiquarian Society)

Web Sites

• DanceView Times
• New York Times: Dance

I. JumboSearch for Books 

A few titles on Dance and Film

• • Art in Motion: Current Research in Screendance
  • A Critical and Historical Analysis of Dance as a Code of the Hollywood Musical
  • Dance in the Hollywood Musical
  • Dance on Screen: Genres and Media from Hollywood to Experimental Art
  • Dance’s Duet with the Camera: Motion Pictures.
  • Dancefilm: Choreography and the Moving Image
  • Dancing Through Film Musicals : Narratives in Motion.
  • Film and Dance : An Examination and Adaptation of Cinematic Techniques into the Choreographic Process.
  • Screendance: Inscribing the Ephemeral Image.
  • Women in Motion: Dance, Gesture, and Spectacle in Film, 1900-1935.

 

Select Writings by Choreographers, Performers, critics and Theorists

• • The Routledge dance studies reader
  • Critical Gestures: Writings on Dance and Culture
  • I see America dancing: selected readings, 1685-2000.
  • Moving history / dancing cultures: a dance history reader
  • Writing dancing in the age of postmodernism
  • Through eyes a dancer: selected writings
  • The tail of the dragon: new dance, 1976-1982
  • The dance in mind: profiles and reviews 1977-83
  • Going to the dance / Arlene Croce.
  • Terpsichore in sneakers: post-modern dance
  • The Dance anthology / edited by Cobbett Steinberg.
  • Buckle at the ballet: selected criticism / by Richard Buckle. (1940 -75)
  • The Vision of Modern Dance.
  • Afterimages / Arlene Croce. (1966-77)
  • Dance beat: selected views and reviews, 1967-1976 / Deborah Jowitt.
  • Dance as a theatre art; source readings in dance history from 1581 to the present. / Cohen, Selma Jeanne.
  • Looking at the dance. / Edwin Denby; introd. by B. H. Haggin. (1930s - 40s)

 

Sample Searches on Dance and Musical Films

• • Musical films -- United States    
  •  dance in motion pictures
  • musical films and dance

   

Dance --(History, Criticism, Reviews, etc.)

• • Dance -- History
  • Dance -- United States.
  • Dance -- United States -- Reviews.
  • Dance criticism.
  • Dance critics -- Interviews.
  • Dance -- Reviews.

 

Dancers, Choreography, etc.

• • Dancers.
  • Ballet dancers.
  • Dancers -- United States.
  • Choreography.
  • Choreography -- Philosophy. (Movement, Aesthetics of. )
  • Choreography -- United States.

 

Genres such as Modern Dance, Ballet, etc.

• • modern Dance
  • Modern dance -- History.
  • Modern dance -- Philosophy.
  • Modern dance -- United States.
  • Modern dance -- Social aspects
  • Ballet
  • Ballet United States

 

Note:  Libraries Worldwide (also known as WorldCat is still a better place to get a fuller picture of  books on a topic.)

II. Scholarly, Trade Journal and Newspaper Articles 

A. All subjects

• JSTOR
• Project Muse

B. Performing Arts, Film Studies, and Related Subjects

• In EBSCOhost databases, you can select to search across the following databases, among others; some years of the trade publications are indexed here such as Variety, Hollywood Reporter, Rolling Stone Magazine.
• Academic Search Premier (all subjects), America: History and Life, Communication & Mass Media, Film & Television Literature, Historical Abstracts (World history and culture), LGBTQ+ Source,  Music Literature, Women's Studies International

Additionally:

• Performing Arts Periodicals Database

 

Note: you will find recent articles from such trade publication as Hollywood Reporter, Variety in both the above mentioned EBSCOhost databases and Performing Arts Periodicals Database. The Media History Project site has some earlier issues of the weekly Variety from 1905-1926.

 

Dance Journals at Tisch

• • CORD news
  • Dance research journal
  • Dance research
  • Dance Research Journal
  • Ballet Review
  • Dance Magazine
  • Dance Chronicle
  • Contact Quarterly
  • Studies in Dance History (series)

 

D. Magazines, Newspapers

Current:

• Access World News (rich U.S. regional news)
• Factiva (more international coverage)

Historical:

• African American Periodicals (1825-1995)
• American Periodicals (1740 - 1940)
• British Periodicals (1680s - 1930s)
• New York Times Online Archive (1851 - three years before the current date)
• Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
• Times of London (1785 - 1985)
• More