Chinese Literary and Cultural Studies: Home

Primary Sources:

• Daily Life in Ancient China
• Buried ideas: legends of abdication and ideal government in early Chinese bamboo-slip manuscripts
• Chinese Women: a thousand pieces of gold (an anthology)
• The Search for Modern China: a Documentary Collection
• Sources in Chinese History
• Sources of Chinese tradition

Overviews

• The Cambridge Companion to Modern Chinese Culture
• China in the 21st Century: What Everyone Needs to Know.
• An introduction to Confucianism

• A Companion to Chinese Cinema
• Historical dictionary of Chinese cinema

• China Biographical Database (approximately 360,000 individuals, primarily from the 7th through 19th centuries.)
• China Data Online (Current and historical data, including geospatial data/GIS and Census data)
• China Data Center
• 电影资料库 （Film Archive）

• CREDO Reference
• Oxford Reference

Images

• ARTstor
• Library of Congress Prints and Photographs
• NYPL Picture Collection
• NYPL Web Gallery of Images
• AP Images
• Creative Commons images

Streaming Videos

• Films from Kanopy
• Filmmakers Library Online (Award-winning documentaries)
• PBS Video Collection

**see also, Finding Videos

Evaluating Information

• Evaluating Articles
• Evaluating Books
• Evaluating Web Sites
• Evaluating Vidoes

Faculty Publicatios, Prof. Xueping Zhong:

• Mainstream Culture Refocused: Television Drama, Society, and the Production of Meaning in the Reform Era China
• Culture and Social Transformation in Reform Era China
• Some of Us: Chinese Women Growing Up in the Mao Era
• Masculinity Besieged? Issues of Modernity and Male Subjectivity in Chinese Literature of the Late Twentieth Century
• Debating the socialist legacy and capitalist globalization in China

 Annotated Bibliographies

• Chinese Studies (e.g. Chinese language film)
• Cinema and media studies
• Dissertations and Theses (Check out the bibliographies of recent dissertations on your topic.)

 

 JumboSearch for Books  

Note: Worldwide Libraries (also known as WorldCat) is still a better place to get a fuller picture of  books on a topic.

Keywords to try out in search of books:

Chinese Popular Culture

• • Mass media -- China.
  • Popular culture -- China.
  • Postmodernism -- China.
  • Confucianism -- China
  • chinese - unites states -- caricatures and cartoons
  • chinese in art

 

Chinese Literature

• 1. The Broader Context: Chinese literature Chinese fiction 2. The Literary Writers: "Can Xue" "Wang Anyi" "Han Shaogong" "Pa Chin" or "Ba Jin" "Zhang Jie" and (fiction* or novel* or stories) (To distiguish "Zhang Jie", the literary writer to any other namesake; Tip: fiction* searches for fiction, fictions, fictional, etc.   Lu, Xun, 1881-1936 -- Criticism and interpretation.   3.  More Women Writers: "Chang Eileen" or "Zhang Ailing" Ding Ling Ling, Shuhua "Xiao Hong"   4. Topic: literature and feminis* and (china or chinese)

 

Chinese Film

• 1. on particular themes: a. Motion pictures and globalization b. The Rural and Urban Themes in Chinese Cinema city and town life china cities and towns -- China. cities and towns in motion pictures City and town life in motion pictures 2. Filmmakers (advanced keyword search; limit to books.) "Chen Kaige" "Feng xiaogang" "Jia Zhangke" "Jiang Wen" Zhang Yimou Hou Xiaoxian John Woo "Tsai Ming-Liang" Wong Kar-Wai 3. place the themes in the larger context -- Chinese Cinema Motion pictures -- China Motion pictures -- China -- Hong Kong. Motion pictures -- Taiwan. Regional and Geopolitical Motion pictures Asia Motion pictures East Asia Motion pictures South Asia Motion pictures -- Developing countries. (geopolitical)

 Journal and Magazine Articles 

A. All subjects

• JSTOR
• Project Muse

 

B. Asian Studies and Related Databases

• In EBSCOhost databases, you can select to search across the following databases, among others:
• Academic Search Premier (all subjects), Art & Architecture Source, ATLA Religion, Bibliography of Asian Studies, Communication & Mass Media Complete, Film & Television Literature Index, Historical Abstracts ( World history and culture), LGBTQ+ Source, MLA International Bibliography (literature, folklore and related studies.), Women's Studies International

A few notable journals:

• Bulletin of the School of Oriental and African Studies
• Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies
• Positions: East Asia Cultures Critique
• The China Quarterly
• China Review International
• Modern Chinese Literature and Culture

 Newspaper Articles 

Current

• Access World News (rich regional news)
• Factiva (more international coverage)

Historical

• American Periodicals (1740 - 1940)
• British Humanities Index (1962- )
• British Periodicals (1680s - 1930s)
• Historical Chinese Newspapers (22 titles in English of earlier 20th Century)
• New York Times Online Archive
• Times Digital Archive  (1785 - 1985)

****A complete list of Newspaper Collections, current and historical