Armenian Art and Architecture: Home

Prof. Christina Maranci

• Armenian Art (an annotated bibliography)
• Armenia: art, religion, and trade in the Middle Ages
• The art of Armenia: an introduction
• Medieval Armenian architecture constructions of race and nation
• Medieval Armenian architecture in historiography: Josef Strzygowski and his legacy
• Vigilant powers: three churches of early medieval Armenia
• A survival guide for art history students

• The Armenians: Art, Culture and Religion
• Catalogue of the additional Armenian manuscripts in the Chester Beatty Library, Dublin
• The Chester Beatty library: a Catalogue of the Armenian Manuscripts with an introd. on the History of Armenian Art
• Codex Etchmiadzin
  a codex Gospel of supreme importance in the history, art, and culture of Armenia.
• Early Medieval art, 300-1150; Sources and Documents.
• Treasures from the Ark: 1700 years of Armenian Christian art
• Treasures in Heaven: Armenian illuminated manuscripts
• A legacy of Armenian treasures: testimony to a people
• Armenia: masterpieces from an enduring culture
• Armenian folk arts, culture, and identity
• The Armenians: 2000 years of art and architecture
• The Armeniad: visible pages of history
• Art and architecture in Byzantium and Armenia: liturgical and exegetical approaches
• The Bible in the Armenian tradition

• Armenian Manuscripts (The Beinecke Library)
• The Digital Scriptorium
• Digital Texts at Tisch Library and on the Web
• Digitized Manuscripts (British Library)
• The Goodspeed Manuscript Collection
• Illuminated Manuscripts in Boston Collections
• Index of Armenian Art
• Manuscript Collection from Armenica.org
• Matenadaran - Armenian Heritage
• UCLA Library's Armenian Manuscript Collection
• University of Oxford's collection of Armenian Manuscripts-LUNA

Recent Bibliographies and Review of Books

• Armenian Art (an annotated bibliography)

More sources for bibliographies and review of books

• Dissertations and Theses (Check out the bibliographies of recent dissertations on a topic.) Dissertation Reviews (yet to be published, which "offfer a glimpse of each discipline's immediate present") Note: check out, also, the bibliographies of books and articles in your readings. Recently Published Reviews (CAA Reviews) H-Net Reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences (1994 - ) New York Review of Books (1963 - ) Note: check out the following Subject Databases of journal articles for review of books as well.

 

---

Journal Articles 

A. All subjects

• JSTOR
• Project Muse

B. Art and Architecture

• Architecture (The Avery Index)
• Art and Architecture Source
• ARTbibliographies Modern
• Arts & Humanities Citation Index
• Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities

C. Period Studies

• L'Année philologique Classics
• International Medieval Bibliography (400-1500)).
• Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance (400 - 1700)

D. Related Subjects

• Historical Abstracts

Tip: Search for Review of Books on A Topic

• 1. limit your search to Reviews or Book Reviews

  2. Use keywords such as "review", "current research".

 

---

Books  

JumboSearch for Books (Tufts Libraries Collections)

Patterns you might follow in browsing for books on your topics on:

• The Broader Context:

  Art, Armenia.
  Architecture Armenia

  Narrower Focuses:

  Christian art and symbolism -- Armenia
  Illumination Of Books And Manuscripts -- Armenia

  Specific Topics:

  armenia* and (architect* or art) and influenc*

  Tip: influenc* searches for influence, influenced, etc.

  Books with Images:

  monuments and "pictorial works" and medieval
  medieval and "pictorial works"

Note: Worldwide Libraries (also known as WorldCat) is still a better place to get a fuller picture of  books on a topic.)

History of Medieval & Renaissance Europe--Primary Documents

Internet Medieval History Sourcebook

---

Visual Sources

• ARTStor (Over a million high quality images)