History 091: Seeking Gendered Perspectives: Historiography, Theory & Methods in African History

The Aluka Digital Library includes a wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials related to Africa. These range from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides in many disciplines including history, anthropology, botany, economics, and more.

Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966 is a digitized collection of primary source documents, part of the British Government’s series Confidential Print. Documents from the Foreign and Colonial Offices stamped “Confidential Print” were then printed and shared with officials from the Foreign Office, Cabinet, and heads of British missions abroad.

Composed of FBI surveillance files on the activities of the African Liberation Support Committee and All African Peoples Revolutionary Party; this collection provides two unique views on African American support for liberation struggles in Africa, the issue of Pan-Africanism, and the role of African independence movements as political leverage for domestic Black struggles. Material from 1970-1985.

Print: 1968-2001. Ginn Compact Reference DT 1 .L43.

Covers volumes from 2004 to the present.
Contemporary politics, foreign affairs, and socio-economics of African countries

The African Activist Archive is preserving and making available online the records of activism in the United States to support the struggles of African peoples against colonialism, apartheid, and social injustice from the 1950s through the 1990s. The website includes:

* growing online archive of historical materials - pamphlets, newsletters, leaflets, buttons, posters, T-shirts, photographs, and audio and video recordings
* personal remembrances and interviews with activists
* an international directory of collections deposited in libraries and archives

The South African History Archive (SAHA) is an independent human rights archive dedicated to documenting, supporting and promoting greater awareness of past and contemporary struggles for justice through archival practices and outreach, and the utilisation of access to information laws.
It is committed to:
*Recapturing lost and neglected histories;
*Recording aspects of South African democracy in the making;
*Bringing history out of the archives and into schools, universities and communities in new and innovative ways;
*Extending the boundaries of freedom of information in South Africa;
*Raise awareness, both nationally and internationally, of the role of archives and documentation in promoting and defending human rights.

The SABC TRC website seeks to make the Truth and Reconciliation Commission proceedings and accompanying transcripts and documentation available to the public.

Includes 7 bibliographic databases: Africana Periodical Literature, African Women, Women Travelers to Africa, Islam in Africa, Kenya Coast, Water and Africa, Education in Africa

FBIS Daily Reports presents translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals and government statements from nations around the globe.

The Times of London, 1785-2011

The Digital National Security Archive provides access to over 35,000 DECLASSIFIED documents of national security information outside the United States Government at George Wasington University.

Print: TISCH OVERSIZE JZ 632…
Numerous sets from the mid-nineteenth century to 1950.

Books and periodicals on women's history and feminism