Find Books in JumboSearch
Want to discover the books that Tisch Library has on your topic? Search by keyword, subject, or author/creator in JumboSearch, which simultaneously searches across all of the library's resources, including both print and eBooks. After you've entered your search terms, use the resource type limiter on the left side of the page to select Books.
Digital Collections of Older Books
- Making of the Modern World Digital ArchiveFull-text searching of digital facsimile images of literature on economy and business, published from 1450 through 1850.
- Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineA comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; general reference. Also included are significant collections of women writers of the eighteenth century, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare. Where they add scholarly value or contain important differences, multiple editions of each individual work are offered.
Exploring the Public Domain
These resources include full-text copies of books published before 1923, which is especially useful for books that are currently out of print.
- HathiTrust Digital LibraryHathiTrust is a large-scale collaborative repository with over 10 million volumes including content digitized via the Google Books project, Internet Archive, and by local libraries. Public domain content is full-text; non-public domain content (post-1923) is for full-text searching only. Since Tufts is a member, those with a Tufts login can download the pdf of pre-1923 materials and can build a personal collection. To login select Collections, then select login from the upper right; choose Tufts University and login using your Tufts username and password.
- Internet ArchiveThe Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, they provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, the print disabled, and the general public.
Finding Books in the Library
Below you will see the floor plan of Level 1 which is downstairs and where the majority of the books are shelved. The books are arranged by call number starting with A and the snaking their way around the floor. Each stack end is labeled with the first and last call number so all you have to do is figure out if your call number falls between them! Once you get the idea you won't need a floor plan to find your books.
Tisch Level 1 -- Where the books live downstairs!
