Find Articles in JumboSearch
Want to discover everything that Tisch Library has on your topic? Try searching for your topic in JumboSearch, which simultaneously searches across all of the library's resources, including journal articles in databases, online, and in print.
Search for Articles on Topics in English in these Databases
Below is a selection of online resources that include a vast number of articles on topics in English, including literary criticism. The resources on this page include articles from both scholarly and popular sources, so be sure to evaluate your sources to make sure that they are appropriate for your project.
- MLA International BibliographyThis database is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1921. The electronic version includes the Bibliography's entire print run and currently contains more than 2 million records.
- JSTORJSTOR includes scholarship published in more than 1,400 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
- Project MUSEProvides electronic access to the full text of Johns Hopkins University Press's scholarly publications in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
- Academic OneFileAcademic OneFile has over 8,000 peer-reviewed journals, the majority in full-text, from the world's leading journals and reference sources.
- Academic Search PremierThis multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
- Gale Literature Resource CenterFind up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Database Search Strategies
Databases respond best to keyword searching. To search efficiently, turn your research question into a keyword search:
Research Question:
How does Gish Jen address issues of American identity?
Search One: (Search with keywords connected by “and”):
Gish Jen and American and identity
Search Two: (Truncate some of the keywords using *):
Gish Jen and America* and ident*
Search Three: (Add alternate words into the search with “(or)”):
Gish Jen and (America* or United States) and (ident* or belong*)
Truncate keywords where applicable. Truncation uses the asterisk (*) to end a word at its core, allowing you to retrieve many more documents containing variations of the search term. Truncation can also be used to find the singular and plural forms of a term. Example: educat* will find educate, educates, education, educators, educating and more.
|
America* |
Ident* |
Belong* |
|
|
Will Find: |
|
|
America |
Identity |
Belong |
Need More Articles?
Looking for more articles? Search Google Scholar to find more information on your topic.
Link Tufts Resources to Google Scholar
If you're off campus, you can link Tufts resources to your Google Scholar results. Linking Google Scholar to the Tufts libraries lets Google show you which full-text articles we have access to through the library's subscriptions. Once you link them, Google Scholar will automatically check to see if Tufts provides access to full-text articles. If we do, you'll be able to access the articles directly from Google Scholar, which is especially helpful if you're off campus. Follow these instructions to link Tufts to Google Scholar:
- Open Google Scholar.
- Click on the Parallel Bars icon (hamburger stack) on the upper left side of the Google Scholar page.
- Scroll down and click on Settings. On the Google Scholar Settings page, click Library Links in the left sidebar.
- Enter Tufts University into the search bar and click search.
- When prompted, check the box next to Tufts University – Get this Item at Tufts
- Click Save at the bottom of the screen.