English Literature: Resources for Graduate Research

The most important and comprehensive collection of early English-language newspapers, dating from 1603. A full-text digital archive of nearly 1,270 newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets, and broadsides collected by the Reverend Doctor Charles Burney (1757-1817), preserved and augmented by the British Library.

Searchable full-text and full-image issues of the Boston Globe (1872-1984). Includes Boston Daily Globe (1872-1922), Boston Daily Globe (1923-1927), Daily Boston Globe (1928-1960), and Boston Globe (1960-1984).

Part of the Americas Historical Newspapers collection, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 allows you to search almost 300 African American newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries.

African-American Newspapers ultimately will contain the complete text of the major African-American newspapers published in the United States during the 19th century.

Complete runs of 48 newspapers specially selected to best represent 19th Century Britain: London's national and regional newspapers; those from established country or university towns as well as the new industrial centers of the Midlands; and from Scotland, Ireland and Wales.

Includes Early American Newspapers series 1 through 12, 1690-1922, and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980. Series 1 (1690 - 1876) provides images and full-text content access to historic newspapers listed in Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography and in additional subsequent bibliographies. Series 2 (1758 - 1900) focuses on the 18th- and 19th-century newspapers. Series 3 (1829 - 1922) focuses on the 19th- and 20th-century newspapers including Civil War, Reconstruction, the Progressive Era and beyond. Series 4 (1756-1922); Series 5 (1777-1922); Series 6 (1741-1922); Series 7 (1773-1922); Series 8 (1844-1922); Series 9 (1832-1922); Series 10 (1730-1900); Series 11 (1803-1899); Series 12 (1821-1900).

Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.

This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text from the Chicago daily defender from 1909 to 2010.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers provides a full-text archive of the Los Angeles Times, from 1881. It is a primary source with particular strengths in news coverage of the film and entertainment industry, immigration, and the growth of Southern California and the American West..

This database offers full-page images and article images from the New York Times dating back to 1851 (called New York daily times, 1851-1857). Digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files. It provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

More than 170 periodicals by and about African-Americans: academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, bulletins of organizations, annual reports, and other genres.

Digital primary source collection of more than 20,000 pamphlets digitized from research universities in the United Kingdom. A wide range of topics are covered, focusing on political and economic life in 19th century Britain. While the bulk of the collection is from the 19th century, there are some pamphlets included going back to 1545.

An online collection reproducing every extant book, pamphlet, and broadside published in America from 1639 to 1819 - the complete printed, non-serial source materials of American culture for the 17th and 18th centuries. Covers titles in the Evans and Shaw-Shoemaker bibliographies.

Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the distinguished bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker