CHNS 0061 Classical Chinese Literature: Home

• Sources of Chinese tradition
• Routledge Curzon Encyclopedia of Confucianism.
• CREDO Reference
• Oxford Reference

• China Biographical Database (approximately 360,000 individuals, primarily from the 7th through 19th centuries.)

• Bulletin of the School of Oriental and African Studies
• Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies
• Positions: East Asia Cultures Critique
• The China Quarterly
• China Review International
• Modern Chinese Literature and Culture

Illustrated Texts (by Tsai, C. C and Bruya, Brian)

• The Analects: an Illustrated Edition.
• Dao De Jing: an Illustrated Edition.
• The Ways of Zen: an Illustrated Edition.

Videos

• Dance, 'The Orphan of Zhao'
• Musical 'The Orphan of Zhao'
• Sacrifice (Movie, 'The Orphan of Zhao“）

JumboSearch 

Worldwide Libraries (Tufts and Other libraries)

Tip: Find Literary Anthologies and Collections for your research

Introductory texts in literary anthologies /collections provide overviews and surveys of an author and his/her works, a literary era, literary style, and so on so forth. The explanatory footnotes enhance an understanding of the works in terms of contemporary culture and literary traditions in which the authors lived and wrote. Hence, the historical significance of the works. For example:

• The Columbia anthology of traditional Chinese literature
• Classical Chinese poetry: an anthology
• Before Confucius: studies in the creation of the Chinese classics
• Chinese theories of reading and writing: a route to hermeneutics and open poetics
• Classics and interpretations: the hermeneutic traditions in Chinese culture
• The Columbia anthology of Yuan drama
• Slapping the table in amazement: a Ming Dynasty story collection

 

Journal Articles (subject databases)

1. All Subjects

• JSTOR
• Project Muse

2. Literary Studies

• MLA International Bibliography (literature, folklore and related studies.)

3. Asian Studies and Cultural History

• Bibliography of Asian Studies
• Historical Abstracts