Find It @ Tufts
If you don't see a link to the full text of an article you're interested, try clicking on the Find It @ Tufts icon for that article. The Find It @Tufts button searches the rest of our holdings to provide you with options for getting you the article. It will try to link you directly to the full-text if we have online access. If not, you'll be given the option to search our catalog to see if we may own that journal in print. If we don't have it online or in print, you can use the link to request the article from Interlibrary loan (ILLiad). If you don't see this button, be sure to search the title of the journal in JumboSearch, restricting to the Library Catalog.
Secondary Sources: Articles
Secondary sources provide in-depth information on a topic while also arguing for a specific perspective on the topic. Secondary sources are useful for in-depth analysis of your topic and for learning about scholarly perspectives on your topic.
Scholarly articles are especially useful for providing up to date discussion of your topic.
Specialized Databases & Subject Indexes
Below is a selection of online resources that include a vast number of full-text articles (and citations for other materials) about history, religion, and politics. The resources on this page include articles from both scholarly and popular sources, so be sure to evaluate your sources to make sure that they are appropriate for your project.
- ATLA Religion Database.Find scholarly articles and books about all aspects of religion. You can access full text versions of most articles in this database.
- America: History & LifeFind abstracts and full-text articles, media and book reviews, and dissertations about the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present.
- Index IslamicusFind scholarly sources on Islam and the Muslim world with articles dating back to 1906. Tip: Search for "America" AND "politics" as subject terms.
- Political Science DatabaseFind articles from leading political science and international relations journals. Tip: search for "religion & politics" in the subject field.
Interdisciplinary Databases and Indexes
- Academic Search PremierInterdisciplinary database containing full text articles, essays, and books.
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index. 1975- .Provides author, subject and citation access to journal articles and book reviews in history and many other journals in the humanities. Part of Web of Science.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)The IBSS has more than two million references to articles and books going back to 1951 in the social sciences.
- JSTORInterdisciplinary database containing full text articles, essays, and books.
- Social Sciences Citation Index. 1956- .The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. You can search both this index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index together.
Select Journals
- American Political Thought
American Political Thought features research by political scientists, historians, literary scholars, economists, and philosophers who study the foundation and political tradition of concepts such as democracy, constitutionalism, equality, liberty, citizenship, political identity, and the role of the state. - Journal of American Studies
Journal of American Studies seeks to critique and interrogate the notion of "America", pursuing this through international perspectives on the history, literature, politics and culture of the United States. - Journal of Church and State
Journal of Church and State publishes constitutional, historical, philosophical, theological, and sociological studies on religion and the body politic in various countries and cultures of the world, including the United States. - The Journal of Law and Religion
The Journal of Law and Religion publishes cutting-edge interdisciplinary, interreligious, and international research on critical issues of law and religion. - Politics and Religion
Politics and Religion is an international journal publishing high quality peer-reviewed research on the multifaceted relationship between religion and politics around the world. - Religion and American Culture
Religion and American Culture is devoted to promoting the ongoing scholarly discussion of the nature, terms, and dynamics of religion in America. - The William and Mary Quarterly
The William and Mary Quarterly publishes refereed scholarship in history and related disciplines from initial Old World–New World contacts to the early nineteenth century.