Finding Funding & Writing Grant Proposals

The Office of Research Administration is responsible for pre-award and non-fiscal post-award administration of grants and contracts at Tufts. Provides information on: finding funding, including internal awards; writing and submitting a proposal; and managing awards. You can subscribe to the OVPR funding opportunities e-list for the Health Sciences Campuses (Boston/Grafton).

The Office of Research Development supports pre-award research development for faculty, graduate students and postdocs. Offer workshops and individual assistance on finding funding opportunities.

Tufts CTSI provides financial support for investigators and connects them with federal, foundation, and for-profit funding opportunities.

The Office of Faculty Affairs at the Friedman School of Nutrition has initiated a pilot program offering faculty development funds to publish in open access journals or attend a conference to present their work. Faculty and postdoctoral scholars at the Friedman School of Nutrition are eligible to apply.

Comprehensive database of national and international funding opportunities from government and private funders. Log in with Tufts username and password for off-campus access. Use your Tufts email address to create an account, which will allow you to build a profile, save searches and schedule funding alerts.

Extensive database of funding opportunities maintained by the Office of Research Support at Duke University. Advanced search allows you to limit search by discipline (basic science, clinical science, translational science, etc.), eligibility and funding type.

Searchable database, compiled by the University of California at Los Angeles, of scholarship, grant, award, and fellowship opportunities for graduate students and postdocs.

Find and apply for grants from the 26 federal agencies that provide awards, including the Department of Health and Human Services (National Institutes of Health, Centers for Disease Control, Agency for Health Care Research and Quality) and the National Science Foundation.
Beginning October 1, 2025, all NIH funding opportunities will be listed on grants.gov only.

Beginning October 1, 2025, all NIH funding opportunities will be listed on grants.gov only.
NIH is comprised of 27 Institutes and Centers, each with a specific research agenda. The Office of Extramural Research provides detailed information about the NIH grants process and active funding opportunities.

NSF supports all fields of science and engineering, except for medical sciences. Funding opportunities at all career levels, including graduate students and postdocs.

The ACS awards research grants and fellowships to investigators at various stages in their careers, with a particular focus on early career researchers. The ACS also supports training for health professionals seeking to develop their clinical expertise and/or ability to conduct research.

Research grants and fellowships offered through the AHA National Center and regional affiliates.

Private foundation dedicated to advancing biomedical sciences, with two primary goals: helping early career researchers and advancing undervalued fields in the basic biomedical sciences.

Private foundation that supports independent research on health and social issues, and makes grants to improve health care practice and policy. Program staff develop projects with prospective grantees and fund unsolicited proposals.

Established by the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the CCF offers grants and awards for clinical investigators at every stage of their careers, including medical students and residents.

The foundation's Medical Research Program supports translational research that investigates the prevention, treatment and cure of human disease. Opportunities for clinical investigators at different stages of their careers.

Philanthropic organization devoted to the advancement of biomedical research and science education for the benefit of humanity. HHMI invests in 'people, not projects' with support for early career researchers, graduate students and postdocs.

PCORI, an independent nonprofit, nongovernmental organization, funds comparative clinical effectiveness research. Authorized by Congress in 2010 with a mandate to improve the quality and relevance of evidence available to make informed health decisions.

Provides grants for research and programs that work to to improve health and health care in communities throughout the United States.

Comprehensive database of national and international funding opportunities from government and private funders. Log in with Tufts username and password for off-campus access. Use your Tufts email address to create an account, which will allow you to build a profile, save searches and schedule funding alerts.

Receive email notification of new grant opportunities available at Grants.gov. Subscribe to all opportunities, or only those that meet your criteria.

Subscribe to this listserv to receive the Current Weekly Table of Contents, which includes program announcements, requests for applications or proposals, and notices from the NIH Guide for Grants and Contracts.

Email alerts from the National Science Foundation, with options to customize the type of notifications you receive.