Skip to main content

Research Guides@Tufts

Fletcher Alumni Resources: Library

Library and IT resources for Fletcher graduates

Alumni Online Community

Be sure to join Fletcher's Alumni Online Community to access these selected databases

Other Resources

Check out your local public library for electronic access to databases. Most offer database and journal access to cardholders. For example see Boston Public Libraries' databases and e-journals.

Also check at local universities to see if their libraries are open to the public (like Tufts' libraries). Many academic libraries offer access to online databases and journals if you are in the library.

Databases

Alumni have remote access to a select number of databases listed below.  (To access these resources, join the Fletcher online community at this link. Once you have a password, log in and click on the tab that says "Library Databases".)

ABI Inform
Business, finance, and economics database with full-text articles and/or abstracts from premier business and management journals in both trade and scholarly fields.

ACLS Humanities Ebooks (American Council of Learned Societies)
A collection of scholarly e-books in the Humanities. Strongest in history, the collection also includes works in Art History, Folklore, Literature, Musicology, Philosophy, and Religion.

Annual Reviews
Search full text of Annual Reviews covering the biomedical, physical and social sciences, and economics.

Chicago Manual of Style
Online version of the Chicago Manual of Style. Guidelines, rules and regulations about writing style, authorship, printing and publishing manuscripts, articles, essays, etc.

CQ Press
CQ Press Library is a resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs.

Dissertations and Theses @Tufts
Contains citations and abstracts of dissertations and theses submitted by the Tufts University and published in UMI's dissertation abstracts database; authorized users may download the full text of dissertations and theses published from 1996.

e-Duke Scholarly Collection
Duke University Press publishes primarily in the humanities and social sciences and is known as a publisher willing to take chances with nontraditional and interdisciplinary publications.

Empire Online
Empire Online brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and it's theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.

Expanded Academic Index
Multi-disciplinary database with full-text articles and/or abstracts from some 1,500 scholarly and trade journals in a variety of fields.

JoVE
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is an online research journal employing visualization to increase reproducibility and transparency in biological, medical, chemical and physical research. Access is to JoVE Environment, JoVE Behavior, JoVE Developmental Biology, JoVE Biology, JoVE Neuroscience, JoVE Immunology/Infection, JoVE Clinical and Translational Medicine, JoVE Engineering, JoVE Chemistry, and JoVE Bioengineering, and Basic Protocols.

JStor
Full-text back issues of scholarly journals in science, history, economics, political science, mathematics, and other fields, with access starting from the first year through to 3 or 5 years ago.

Naxos Music Library
Collection of classical music available online. Includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Da Capo catalogues of over 170,000 tracks, including Classical music, Historical recordings, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. Whilst listening, users can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database.

Ovid/Medline
Database of international biomedical journal literature in fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and pre-clinical sciences. The database offers premier functionality including a MeSH thesaurus, full explosion and pre-explosion capability, subheadings, scope notes, and permuted index browsing. Alumni will also have full-text access to seventeen of the Current Opinion titles through Ovid.

PhilPapers
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. We monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics.

Project Muse
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community.

SAGE Knowledge
The SAGE Knowledge platform provides cross-searching of SAGE resources including reference works, ebooks, and CQ Press. Included titles represent many disciplines within the social sciences such as juvenile justice, terrorism, social theory, crime, African American society, social welfare, education and many more themes.

Women Writer's Project
A full-text collection of works written by women, in English or in English translation, before 1850.

World Shakespeare Bibliography
Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced since 1971

 

Research Help

Alumni can contact a reference librarian for research help

Borrowing Privileges

Fletcher alum can register at the circulation desk (business hours only) for an alumni card to borrow materials from any Tufts library. Alumni cards need to be renewed in person every year.

Learn more about borrowing privileges.

Email or call (617-627-3935) the circulation desk with questions.

 

Ask-a-Librarian

Ginn Reference Desk's picture
Ginn Reference Desk
Ask Us widget button
Contact:
Fletcher School of Law & Diplomacy
Research Help Hours: 9am-5pm, M-F
617-627-5021
Website