Recommended databases
-
Art & Architecture SourceArt and Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
-
JSTORJSTOR includes scholarship published in more than 1,400 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Recommended books to get you started..
-
Artists and the practice of agriculture : politics and aesthetics of food sovereignty in art since 1960
by
"Artists and the Practice of Agriculture maps out examples of artistic practices that engage with the aesthetics and politics of gathering food, growing edible and medicinal plants, and interacting with non-human collaborators. In the hands of contemporary artists, farming and foraging become forms of visual and material language that convey personal and political meanings. This book provides a critical analysis of artistic practices that model alternative food systems. It presents rich academic insights as well as 16 conversations with practicing artists. The volume addresses pressing issues, such as the interconnectedness of human and other-than-human beings, the weight of industrial agriculture, the legacy of colonialism, and the promise of place-based and embodied pedagogies. Through participatory projects, the artists discussed here reflect on the links between past histories, present challenges, and future solutions for the food sovereignty of local and networked communities. The book is an easy-to-navigate resource for readers interested in food studies, visual and material cultures, contemporary art, ecocriticism, and the environmental humanities"-- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: ebook -
Black Food
by
A beautiful, rich, and groundbreaking book exploring Black foodways within America and around the world, curated by food activist and author of Vegetable Kingdom Bryant Terry. WINNER OF THE ART OF EATING PRIZE . JAMES BEARD AWARD NOMINEE . ONE OF THE TEN BEST COOKBOOKS OF THE YEAR- The New Yorker, San Francisco Chronicle, Boston Globe . ONE OF THE BEST COOKBOOKS OF THE YEAR- The Washington Post, Time Out, NPR, Los Angeles Times, Food52, Glamour, New York Post, Minneapolis Star Tribune, Vice, Epicurious, Shelf Awareness, Publishers Weekly, Library Journal "Mouthwatering, visually stunning, and intoxicating, Black Food tells a global story of creativity, endurance, and imagination that was sustained in the face of dispersal, displacement, and oppression."-Imani Perry, Professor of African American Studies at Princeton University In this stunning and deeply heartfelt tribute to Black culinary ingenuity, Bryant Terry captures the broad and divergent voices of the African Diaspora through the prism of food. With contributions from more than 100 Black cultural luminaires from around the globe, the book moves through chapters exploring parts of the Black experience, from Homeland to Migration, Spirituality to Black Future, offering delicious recipes, moving essays, and arresting artwork. As much a joyful celebration of Black culture as a cookbook, Black Food explores the interweaving of food, experience, and community through original poetry and essays, including "Jollofing with Toni Morrison" by Sarah Ladipo Manyika, "Queer Intelligence" by Zoe Adjonyoh, "The Spiritual Ecology of Black Food" by Leah Penniman, and "Foodsteps in Motion" by Michael W. Twitty. The recipes are similarly expansive and generous, including sentimental favorites and fresh takes such as Crispy Cassava Skillet Cakes from Yewande Komolafe, Okra & Shrimp Purloo from BJ Dennis, Jerk Chicken Ramen from Suzanne Barr, Avocado and Mango Salad with Spicy Pickled Carrot and Rof Dressing from Pierre Thiam, and Sweet Potato Pie from Jenne Claiborne. Visually stunning artwork from such notables as Black Panther Party creative director Emory Douglas and artist Sarina Mantle are woven throughout, and the book includes a signature musical playlist curated by Bryant. With arresting artwork and innovative design, Black Food is a visual and spiritual feast that will satisfy any soul.
Call Number: SMFA: GT2853.U5 B59 2021 -
Dining with the Sultan: the Fine Art of Feasting
by
The spirit of feasting in Islamic lands as seen in art and material culture This catalog represents the first occasion that the burgeoning knowledge of food culture in this period has been employed to inform our understanding of Islamic art. Dining with the Sultan offers a pan-Islamic reach, spanning the 8th through 19th centuries and including some 200 works of art representing a rich variety of mediums. Across its 400 pages, and through an abundance of color plates and new scholarship, the publication introduces audiences to Islamic art and culture with objects of undisputed quality and appeal. Viewed through the universal lens of fine dining, this transformative selection of materials emphasizes our shared humanity rather than our singular histories.
Call Number: SMFA: GT2853.I75 D56 2023ISBN: 9781636810881 -
Feast
by
The companion to a one-of-a-kind exhibition at the University of Chicago's Smart Museum of Art, Feast: Radical Hospitality in Contemporary Art explores the role of the meal in contemporary art. Feast offers the first survey of the artist-orchestrated meal: since the 1930s, the act of sharing food and drink has been used to advance aesthetic goals and foster critical engagement with the culture of the moment. Both exhibition catalogue and reader, this richly illus- trated book offers an interdisciplinary exploration of the art of the meal and its relationship to questions about hospitality, politics, and culture. From the Italian Futurists' banquets in the 1930s, to 1960s and '70s conceptual and performative work, to the global prevalence of socially engaged practices today, Feast considers a diverse group of artists who have transformed the meal into a compelling artistic medium. After an introductory essay by curator Stephanie Smith, the book includes new interviews with over twenty contributing artists and reprinted excerpts of classic texts. It also features a selection of contextual essays contributed by an international group of critics, writers, curators, and scholars.
Call Number: SMFA: N8217.D67 F43 2013 -
Food
by
This volume accompanies the international traveling exhibition FOOD, that focuses on the preservation of Earth and food choices, as well as the effects of climate change, the poisoning of agricultural products, the food distribution gap, famine and other related concerns. FOOD includes artworks by international artists exploring the question of food, a highly complex issue simultaneously dealing with survival, health, economy and culture.
Call Number: SMFA: N8217.F64 F66x 2014 -
The Fruits of Empire
by
The Fruits of Empire is a history of American expansion through the lens of art and food. In the decades after the Civil War, Americans consumed an unprecedented amount of fruit as it grew more accessible with advancements in refrigeration and transportation technologies. This excitement for fruit manifested in an explosion of fruit imagery within still life paintings, prints, trade cards, and more. Images of fruit labor and consumption by immigrants and people of color also gained visibility, merging alongside the efforts of expansionists to assimilate land and, in some cases, people into the national body. Divided into five chapters on visual images of the grape, orange, watermelon, banana, and pineapple, this book demonstrates how representations of fruit struck the nerve of the nation's most heated debates over land, race, and citizenship in the age of high imperialism.
Call Number: SMFA and Tisch: ND1402.5 .K59 2020 -
Home Works: a Cooking Book
by
Communal cooking as political pleasure: recipes and ideas for collaborating in the kitchen In this imaginative and incisive take on both the cookbook form and on the labor and culture attending it, food preparation is assessed as both a creative outlet and an inherently political pursuit, a means of nourishing the community and nurturing meaningful conversation. Along with tasty dinner recipes, Home Works expands upon its central ideas through a series of essays and interviews that address the gendered division of domestic labor. This global perspective challenges what labor we value and how work is organized. The book originated as a research project by Spanish architect Anna Puigjaner investigating housing designs in New York that were developed without fully equipped kitchens, or in some cases no kitchen at all. This led to an exploration of community responses to these kitchenless homes involving communal urban kitchens, which today can be found across the world from Lima to Tokyo. In these examples, the kitchen mutated from a space that defined the clich s of family and home to a space for the development of political communities that took control over their living situation. What would happen if we would do away with our kitchens and collectively gather and share a kitchen? What does it mean to eat together? What type of togetherness would this kind of communal dining create? Upending the model of cookery as an isolated act, Home Works argues for communal eating in fun and life-enhancing ways.
Call Number: SMFA: N7477 .H66 2020 -
More Than the Eyes
by
Food is something with which every one of us shares a fierce intimacy. As well as directly supporting organic life, it plays a central part in all cultures. It is the vital stuff around which personal, family and social rituals are performed, and it is key to identity, both individual and collective. But food's manifold sensory qualities often mean our interactions with it are relegated to a lower status than other cultural offerings. In More Than The Eyes, writer Ellen Mara De Wachter considers the ways in which food, when used as a material in contemporary art confronts, subverts and ultimately brings us to our senses. Focusing on artists working between 1960 and 2000, the book shows how we have become restricted by a hierarchy of the senses that values sight and reason above other senses, and how encounters with food in art can help us break this bind and return us to our senses. It brings a range of existential concerns into focus, from the somatic, social, political, economic and environmental aspects of food to its relevance to questions of gender, race, nostalgia, pleasure and eroticism. By putting food at the centre of the highly visual art world, the artists in this book quicken a range of sensations beyond visual perception, helping us access and liberate aspects of our experience that have been ignored or suppressed. We discover how Carolee Schneemann introduces a notion of sensuality and play to whole-body interactions with meat; the way in which Hannah Wilke makes a seductive case for recognising and rejecting the imperative for women to be 'sweet'; and how other artists, such as Sarah Lucas and Andy Warhol, introduce the iconography, foods and desires of the working class into the rarefied environment of the gallery and museum.
Call Number: SMFA and Tisch: NX650.F64 D39 20245 -
Mujer, arte y comida
by
An emblem of beauty, a favorite subject of artists, women have been depicted as mythological goddesses, biblical heroines or virgins; queen, aristocrat or bourgeoisie; worker or prostitute; patron or collector; model, lover or wife of painters. And today we ask ourselves: what is the place of women in art? Woman, Art and Food is an encounter between the history of artistic representations of women and the history of their favorite dishes, of the beverages, cereals, vegetables and fruits of their land, of the eating habits of their time, of their culinary and gastronomic experiences that express identity or tradition. Animated by the same impetus, all of them explored the "kitchen" of the senses, and almost all of them left food as joyful traces in their works.
Call Number: SMFA: N7630 .A93 2023 -
Stocked
by
Stocked documents the work of contemporary artists who take the grocery store and consumption of its products as their subjects. Much of their work candidly cites 1960s pop, but these artists also use strategies culled from minimalism, performance, documentary photography, and scientific taxonomy. Keen observers and clever humorists, they prompt us to pay attention to the items we purchase, the spaces in which we buy them, the people we encounter there, the cultural norms that inform our eating and shopping, and the often overlooked effects of our habits.
Call Number: SMFA: N8217.F64 S73 2013 -
The Taste of Art
by
The Taste of Art offers a sample of scholarly essays that examine the role of food in Western contemporary art practices. The contributors are scholars from a range of disciplines, including art history, philosophy, film studies, and history. As a whole, the volume illustrates how artists engage with food as matter and process in order to explore alternative aesthetic strategies and indicate countercultural shifts in society. The collection opens by exploring the theoretical intersections of art and food, food art's historical root in Futurism, and the ways in which food carries gendered meaning in popular film. Subsequent sections analyze the ways in which artists challenge mainstream ideas through food in a variety of scenarios. Beginning from a focus on the body and subjectivity, the authors zoom out to look at the domestic sphere, and finally the public sphere.Here are essays that study a range of artists including, among others, Filippo Tommaso Marinetti, Daniel Spoerri, Dieter Roth, Joseph Beuys, Al Ruppersberg, Alison Knowles, Martha Rosler, Robin Weltsch, Vicki Hodgetts, Paul McCarthy, Luciano Fabro, Carries Mae Weems, Peter Fischli and David Weiss, Janine Antoni, Elzbieta Jablonska, Liza Lou, Tom Marioni, Rirkrit Tiravanija, Michael Rakowitz, and Natalie Jeremijenko.
Call Number: SMFA, Tisch, & ebook: N8217.F64 T378 2017
Browse the SMFA Library Shelves
| Art and society | NX180.S6 |
| Conceptual art | N6469 .C63 |
| Installation art | N6494.I56 |
| Public art | N8825 – 8846 |